# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Primitives - Everything’s Shining Bright: The Lazy Recordings 1985-87

  by Dixie Ernill

published: 29 / 4 / 2013

Primitives - Everything’s Shining Bright: The Lazy Recordings 1985-87
Label: Cherry Red Records
Format: CD X2


First-rate double compilation of early recordings from much loved Coventry-based indie pop/punk outfit, the Primitives

Before the Primitives hit the charts with the ubiquitous 'Crash'they honed their sound over a few years on their own label, Lazy. Whilst 'Crash' may be the band's best known song, the tracks on this compilation (such as 'Thru the Flowers', 'Stop Killing Me' and 'Really Stupid') are arguably the high water mark of their career. Indeed, Cherry Red have done an excellent job in compiling every track the band recorded for Lazy including the 1987 promo only live album from the ICA - introduced by fan Morrissey no less. The collection is also bolstered by the inclusion of the band's first demo (featuring 'Crash'), the version of 'Nothing Left' that was given away free with 'Sounds magazine', and most interestingly seven unreleased tracks from the 'Everything's Shining Bright' session that would eventually be re-recorded for their debut long player, 'Lovely'. Seen by many as the missing link between Blondie and the Jesus and Mary Chain, the band reformed in recent years and are set to headline the Scared To Get Happy indie-pop mini-festival in London in June. With diminutive singer Tracy Tracy as engaging and delightful as ever and guitarist Paul Court teasing out those catchy hooks it promises to be a must see event and this compilation is the perfect companion. The Brilliant Corners are also playing. Enough said. Be there.

Track Listing:-
1 Thru The Flowers
2 Across My Shoulder
3 She Don't Need You
4 Lazy
5 Really Stupid
6 We Found A Way To The Sun
7 Where The Wind Blows
8 Stop Killing Me
9 Buzz Buzz Buzz
10 Laughing Up My Sleeve
11 Ocean Blue
12 Shadow (Guitar Version)
13 Thru The Flowers (New Version)
14 Everything Shining Bright
15 Nothing Left (Demo)
16 Really Stupid (Demo)
17 Across My Shoulder (Previously Unreleased Live 1985 Demos)
18 Crash (Previously Unreleased Live 1985 Demos)
19 Spacehead (Previously Unreleased Live 1985 Demos)
20 Nothing Left (Sounds Version Bonus Track)
21 I'll Stick With You
22 Dreamwalk Baby
23 Buzz Buzz Buzz
24 Nothing Left
25 Out Of Reach
26 Carry Me Home
27 Don't Want Anything To Change
28 Think I'll Stick With You
29 Dreamwalk Baby
30 Run Baby Run
31 Thru The Flowers
32 Nothing Left
33 Where The Wind Blows
34 Out Of Reach
35 We Found A Way To The Sun
36 Don't Want Anything To Change
37 Across My Shoulder
38 Everything's Shining Bright
39 Buzz Buzz Buzz
40 Stop Killing Me
41 I Wanna Be Your Dog

Band Links:-

Label Links:-

Have a Listen:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit


Interview (2021)
Primitives - Interview
Indie pop pioneers The Primitives are currently on the road on their Electric Acoustic tour which celebrates the release of boxset 'Bloom! The Complete Recordings 1985-92'. Guitarist/vocalist Paul Court chats to Richard Lewis about the group’s early days, chart success and returning to the stage.

live reviews

Live Rooms, Chester, 12/9/2021
Primitives - Live Rooms, Chester, 12/9/2021
Indie pop progenitors The Primitives roll back the years with a career-scanning set delivered in breathless fashion. Richard Lewis reviews
Relentless Garage, London, 24/3/2011

favourite album

Galore (2015)
Primitives - Galore
Anthony Strutt reflects on the Primitives' underrated 1991 third album 'Galore', which has just been reissued in a double CD edition
Lovely (2013)



Spin-O-Rama (2014)
Excellent second comeback album from reformed 80's indiepop act, the Primitives
Echoes and Rhymes (2012)
Never Kill a Secret (2011)

most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors