# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Lucky Bishops - Unexpect The Expected

  by Geraint Jones

published: 27 / 11 / 2006

Lucky Bishops - Unexpect The Expected
Label: Camera Obscura
Format: CD


Off-kilter and inventive psychedelic pop on third album from the Lucky Bishops

Since setting hearts aflutter among psych-pop fans with their impressive self-titled debut at the tail-end of 1999 and impressing again with ‘Grimstone’, its follow up in 2002, the Lucky Bishops, the West Country’s premier exponents of off-kilter melodic magnificence have been curiously quiet. So the intriguingly, yet fittingly, titled ‘Unexpect The Expected’ marks a most welcome return for the Dorset quartet, which reassuringly maintains the high watermark established by its two predecessors. Chock full of incandescent, vibrant pop music filtered through four extremely talented individuals – each member contributing material and taking turns on lead vocals – combine to make up one of the most inventive, though sadly largely unsung bands around. The Lucky Bishops are never likely to be touted as the next big thing by music fashionistas, but for the less shallow amongst you, the Lucky Bishops are perpetuating a tradition of timelessly inventive, quintessentially British pop. If there’s any room in your music collection for the likes of the Beatles, the Kinks, XTC or Super Furry Animals, then the Lucky Bishops could well be your mother lode.

Track Listing:-
1 Out Of The Hole
2 The Pilot's Gone
3 Guia De Conversacion
4 Witches
5 St. Ives
6 London Lounge
7 Cake And The Crumbs
8 Upon The Mount
9 I Must Destroy My Brain
10 K2
11 Old Women Laugh
12 The Leaves
13 No Worries

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors