# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Gloria Estefan - Brazil.305

  by Nick Dent-Robinson

published: 6 / 10 / 2020

Gloria Estefan - Brazil.305
Label: Sony Music
Format: CD


Impressive mix of new songs and reworking of older material in first album in seven years from Latin singer Gloria Estefan

Like so many others, Latin singer Gloria Estefan has been working in the studio through lockdown. She re-recorded her 1989 hit single ‘Get On Your Feet’ with the lyrics changed to ‘Put On Your Mask’ and she has also completed work on a brand new album, ‘Brazil.305’. This, her first album for seven years, celebrates the links between Estefan's Cuban birthplace and her “favourite South American country”, Brazil. The 305 in the title refers to the US telephone area dialling code for Miami, the adopted home town where Estefan has lived most of her life. The album comprises an interesting mix of new songs and older material – but all of it has been arranged in a lively Brazilian style and it is performed by brilliantly accomplished Brazilian musicians. The result is a pleasing, vibrant, gregarious feel. Amongst the new material is ‘Only Together’ - an English adaptation of a bossa nova song by award-winning composer Gonzaguinha which provided a huge Brazilian hit in 2007 for Sao Paulo singer Maria Rita. Also notable is ‘Magalenha’ - a powerful duet with funk singer Carlinhos Brown. Estefan is now 62 but her supple, distinctive voice is as strong as ever. This is evident on an updated version of ‘Rhythm Is Gonna Get You’ from Estofan's Miami Sound Machine days. Equally impressive is her performance of ‘Don't Wannna Lose You’ which has been transformed from the way it sounded as a 1980s power ballad into a nicely sophisticated jazz number. ‘Brazil.305’ confirms Gloria Estefan's standing as one of the foremost America-based performers of her generation.

Track Listing:-
1 Samba
2 Un Nuevo Mundo (Spanish adaptation of "O Homem Falou")
3 Cuts Both Ways
4 Cuando Hay Amor
5 Con los Años Que Me Quedan
6 Tu y Yo (Here We Are)
7 Hoy
8 Ayer
9 Rhythm Is Gonna Get You
10 Mi Tierra
11 Don't Wanna Lose You
12 Hasta Siempre
13 Mas Allá
14 Abriendo Puertas
15 Get On Your Feet
16 Here We Are
17 Only Together (English adaptation of "O Homem Falou")
18 Magalenha

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

digital downloads

most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors