# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Abrahma - Through the Dusty Paths of Our Lives

  by Andrew Carver

published: 12 / 11 / 2012

Abrahma - Through the Dusty Paths of Our Lives
Label: Small Stone Records
Format: CD


Satisfying stoner rock on debut album from psychedelic-influenced Parisian trio, Abrahama

The Parisian band Alcosohnic apparently decided they wanted to imbibe at the fountain of something headier than their current moniker and changed names to Abrahma. They have now released their debut 'Through the Dusty Paths of Our Lives', a 15-track testament to heavy-duty head-bending. Anchored by two brothers on bass and drums (Guillaume and Benjamin Colin, respectively) and a solid crooner in Seb Bismuth, as well as two guitars courtesy of Bismuth and Nicolas Heller, the band’s sound is readymade for the Small Stone label. Inspired by such heavies as Kyuss, Valis, Nebula and The Atomic Bitchwax, the band keeps things pretty concise, and add a little of their own character with passages of lonely reverbed guitar in several tunes to give the thunder something to contrast with. They also change things up with some bluesy slide guitar on ‘Oceans of Sand’, stretch them out on the near 11-minute ‘The Maze’ and drift away through a mind-altering soundscape on ‘... Here Sleep Ghosts’. Monster Magnet fans might also want to check out ‘Dusty Paths’ for the guest guitar work on ‘Big Black Cloud’. Overall, a solid effort that suggests a crushing live band, and which should satisfy fans of heavy, crunchy psychedelica.

Track Listing:-
1 Alpha
2 Neptune Of Sorrow
3 Tears Of The Sun
4 Dandelion Dust
5 Honkin' Water Roof
6 Loa's Awakening (Prelude)
7 Vodun - Pt. 2: Samedi's Awakening
8 Big Black Cloud
9 Headless Horse
10 Vodun - Pt. 2: I, Zombie
11 Oceans On Sand
12 ...Here Sleep Ghosts
13 Vodun - Pt. 3: Final Asagwe
14 The Maze
15 Omega

Band Links:-

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors