# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Neil Young - Le Noise

  by Anthony Strutt

published: 2 / 10 / 2010

Neil Young - Le Noise
Label: Reprise Records
Format: CD


Classic Daniel Lanois-produced latest album from Neil Young, in which he appears totally unaccompanied

'Le Noise', Neil Young's latest album, is different from his previous thirty plus releases as it's pretty much a full solo album, featuring just Neil and a guitar or two. It was produced by Daniel Lanois and is a strong piece of work of just eight songs all together. 'Walk With Me' starts it all off and sounds fresh, sharp and very loud and commanding. It is also sounds somewhat grungy but with easy-on-the-ear harmonies. Parts of this song sound like a Who-style rock opera. 'Sign of Love' has something of the groove of his 1969 song, 'Cinammon Girl'. It has strong vocals and, like the rest of this album, the guitar work is absolutely stunning. 'Someone's Gonna Rescue You' is familiar of much of Neil's material. It has strong vocals and tells you a commanding tale. Its delivery and vibe could be anywhere from the mid 1960s to the mid 1970s. 'Love and War' is acoustic, almost Spanish in feel and the first anti war song of the album. 'Angry World' has much more fire to it, but, while it guitar work is noisy, it is also carefully restrained too. 'Hitchhiker' is a travelling and an on the road song, full of hot summer Californian sun and big meaty riffs. 'Peaceful Valley Boulevard' is the longest track on 'Le Noise', softly played and acoustic and, again an anti-war song, quite possibly one of the stand-out numbers of his career. 'Rumblin' closes the album. It is much more grungy and harsh but once again solid all the way through. With 'Le Noise' Neil Young has produced yet another classic album.

Track Listing:-
1 Walk with Me
2 Sign of Love
3 Someone's Gonna Rescue You
4 Love and War
5 Angry World
6 Hitchhiker
7 Peaceful Valley Boulevard
8 Rumblin'
9 Digital Booklet: Le Noise

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit


G-Geffen Vs Young (2012)
Neil Young - G-Geffen Vs Young
Andy Cassidy, in his 'A-C's A-Z of Music', examines the 80's lawsuit between record company boss David Geffen and Neil Young, which ensued after Young released a set of experimental albums
Greatest Hits (2004)


Fork in the Road (2009)
Rock-influenced latest album from Neil Young, which despite being slated by critics and lyrically lacking, is oddly appealing
Sugar Mountain : Live at Canterbury House (2009)
Chrome Dreams 2 (2007)
Live at Massey Hall 1971 (2007)
Living With War (2006)
Prairie Wind (2006)

most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors