# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Immaculate Machine - Ones And Zeros

  by Andrew Carver

published: 22 / 1 / 2006

Immaculate Machine - Ones And Zeros
Label: Mint Records
Format: CD


Literate new-wave influenced pop on debut album from Victoria, British Columbia-based trio Immaculate Machine, whose singer Kathryn Calder has also toured with the New Pornographers

Immaculate Machine is a Victoria, B.C., trio who play new-wave influenced pop. Singer and keyboardist Kathryn Calder should be familiar to fans of Vancouver power-pop sensations the New Pornographers. She was recruited by her uncle Carl Newman to fill in for an otherwise-engaged Neko Case when the New Pornographers toured, and she also played piano and sang on 'Twin Cinemas'. One can almost sense a family connection between her uncle’s outfit -and not just because Pornographer John Collins and 'Mass Romantic' producer Dave Carswell helped lay down their debut. Lyrically, there are fraught relationships and tense liaisons. Musically, where Newman draws from 1960's and 1970's power pop, Calder, drummer Luke Kozlowski and guitarist Brooke Gallupe are deeper into skinny tie territory. From the edge of desperation and Calder’s pained yelp of, “The streets are not my home! The streets are not my home!” and stuttering guitar of 'Broken Ship' to the nervous beep of a cheesy keyboard on 'No Such Thing As The Future', Immaculate Machine are definitely children of the 1980's and onward. Their combination of male and female vocals should appeal to fans of fellow Mint recording artists Young and Sexy, and their literate art rock should get a welcome ear from indie rock fans.

Track Listing:-
1 Broken Ship
2 No Such Thing as the Future
3 Fire in the Lobby
4 Phone No.
5 On/Off
6 Invention '77
7 So Cynical
8 No Way Out
9 Army
10 Two Places
11 Latest Breaking News
12 Don't Leave Without Us
13 Statue

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors