# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Depeche Mode - Sounds of the Universe

  by Aaron Brown

published: 6 / 6 / 2009

Depeche Mode - Sounds of the Universe
Label: Mute Records
Format: CD


Impressive twelfth album from Depeche Mode, who entering the fourth decade of their career show that they have lost none of their edge

While we’ve seen many classic band reunions recently, it’s great to know that through thick and thin Depeche Mode have stuck in there. The Mode’s twelfth studio effort is a great blast from the past from Basildon’s finest. 'Sounds of the Universe' does borrow quite heavily the Mode’s synth-laden 'Music for the Masses' and 'Violator' era, yet stills sounds contemporary as ever. Pretty much a follow up to previous albums 'Angels' and 'Exciter', 'Sounds of the Universe' is a stand up rock album with the usual hints of electronica Starting off with the electronic humming of 'In Chains', it’s clear it is business as usual as Dave Gahan’s crooning takes over. Soon-to-be-released single, 'Wrong,' again borrows heavily from the 'Violator/Music' for 'Masses' era, another addition to their ever burgeoning list of anthems. For many bands, post-drug addiction, this normally means weak, substandard music, but not Depeche Mode however. Now in their 32nd year of existence still have the knack, the gall even to deliver great contemporary music.

Track Listing:-
1 In Chains
2 Hole to Feed
3 Wrong
4 Fragile Tension
5 Little Soul
6 In Sympathy
7 Peace
8 Come Back
9 Spacewalker
10 Perfect
11 Miles Away / The Truth Is
12 Jezebel
13 Corrupt
14 Oh Well (Black Light Odyssey Dub)
15 Light
16 The Sun and the Moon and the Stars
17 Ghost
18 Esque
19 Oh Well
20 Corrupt (Efdemin Remix)
21 In Chains (Minilogue's Earth Remix)
22 Little Soul (Thomas Fehlmann Feathers and Tears Mix)
23 Jezebel (SixToes Remix)
24 Perfect (Electronic Periodic's Dark Drone Mix)
25 Wrong (Caspa Remix)
26 Little 15 (Demo Version)
27 Clean (Demo Version)
28 Sweetest Perfection (Demo Version)
29 Walking in My Shoes (Demo Version)
30 I Feel You (Demo Version)
31 Judas (Demo Version)
32 Surrender (Demo Version)
33 Only When I Lose Myself (Demo Version)
34 Nothing's Impossible (Demo Version)
35 Corrupt (Demo Version)
36 Peace (Demo Version)
37 Jezebel (Demo Version)
38 Come Back (Demo Version)
39 In Chains (Demo Version)

Band Links:-

Label Links:-

Have a Listen:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit


Tour of the Universe, Barcelona, 20/21/11/09 (2010)
Depeche Mode - Tour of the Universe, Barcelona, 20/21/11/09
Richard Lewis enjoys Depeche Mode's new concert film which was filmed at a stadium gig during their 2009 'Sounds of the Universe' tour
Posters Came from the Walls (2009)

live reviews

NIA, Birmingham, 19/11/2017
Depeche Mode - NIA, Birmingham, 19/11/2017
DAve Goodwin watches 80's legends Depeche Mode play to a packed NIA Birmingham as they tour their new album 'Spirit', 37 years and 14 albums after their debut, 'Speak and Spell'.


Ten Songs That Made Me Love... (2021)
Depeche Mode - Ten Songs That Made Me Love...
Fiona Hutchings in 'Ten Songs That Made Me Love...' writes of her favourite songs by Depeche Mode.
Profile (2006)


Photoscapes (2017)
Depeche Mode - Photoscapes
Darren Aston photographs electro pioneers Depeche Mode at a gig on their recent tour at the Manchester Arena



Memento Mori (2023)
Exhilirating and revitalising tour-de-force fifteenth album from Depeche Mode, their first recorded as a two-piece after the death of founder member Andy Fletcher last year
Peace (2009)
Playing The Angel (2005)

most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors