# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Fenella - Feherlofia

  by Dave Goodwin

published: 27 / 11 / 2019

Fenella - Feherlofia
Label: Fire Records
Format: CD


Ambient soundtrack from Fenella, the new project of electronic composer Jane Weaver, which is a re-imagined soundtrack to 1981 cult animation film ‘Fehérlófia’

Jane Weaver, one of the most respected electronic composers of recent times, was born 1972 in Liverpool and is an English singer, songwriter, and guitarist who ran the record label Bird and performed as part of the Britpop group Kill Laura, the band she formed whilst in sixth form college. The band lasted between 1993 and 1996 releasing five singles, three of which were on the Manchester Records label run by Rob Gretton, owner of The Haçienda and manager of New Order. Kill Laura disbanded in 1997 and she went on work on a folktronica project Misty Dixon, and as a solo artist. After a long solo career which recently saw her releasing three critically-acclaimed LP’s within the last five years, Weaver has morphed once again into Fenella and has been working on this, the re-imagined soundtrack to Marcell Jankovics' cult animation ‘Fehérlófia’. Originally released in 1981, ‘Fehérlófia’ is an animated film based on stories and mythical tales of the Scythians, a group of ancient tribes of nomadic warriors from southern Siberia who flourished from around 900 BC. Basically Fenella's music here is an accompaniment to Jankovics’ visual aesthetic, which has been described as a “mixture of ambient textures, menacing drones and spine-tingling vocals combined to create a lavish soundscape saturated with hypnotic moods and cinematic atmosphere.” I would personally go along with that and am usually of the mind that a soundtrack is slightly lost without the film, but Fenella has done a remarkable job with this. Although I confess to have never seen the film before, this album is compelling me to do just that. Weaver has collaborated with long-term band mates Peter Philipson and Raz Ullah in north west Scotland in recording the initial album sessions and with the help of overdubs and vocal manipulations they finally got it all on to tape at Eve Studios near Manchester, a haven for vintage analogue recording equipment. It is limited to 500 copies on vinyl, so you'd better get your Nikes on fast.

Track Listing:-
1 Slow Swoop
2 Three Heads Rising
3 Bright Curse
4 Occurring In Waves
5 Triangular Journey
6 The Seed
7 Pendulum
8 Shard Of Glass
9 Truly Seduced
10 The Spectacle
11 Battle
12 Echo Chamber Of Your Heart
13 Strength In Air
14 Rotation Wells
15 Gilded Griffin
16 Transfiguration Into One

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors