# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Jane Weaver - Loops in the Secret Society

  by Adrian P

published: 4 / 7 / 2019

Jane Weaver - Loops in the Secret Society
Label: Fire Records
Format: LP


Folding-together key cuts from her last two albums, inside recalibrated casings and amidst new interludes, Jane Weaver intrepidly translates her solo live show into the studio

As a testament to her staying power, it was gratifying that Jane Weaver truly found both her creative and critically-lauded feet with 2014’s ‘The Silver Globe’ and 2017’s ‘Modern Kosmology’ LPs, after years of hard-crafting under her own name as well as with Kill Laura and Misty Dixon. Having successfully remoulded extracts from the said two LPs out on the road, most recently with a stripped-down-personnel-set-up, Weaver has elected to re-transpose the material back into studio, instead of releasing a straightforward live or remix album. Playing-out as almost one continuous piece, albeit with some necessary double-vinyl-flipping intermissions, ‘Loops in the Secret Society’ takes the melodic motorik-pop and sumptuous expansiveness of ‘The Silver Globe’ and ‘Modern Kosmology’ into more celestial planes with new layers and a selection of new instrumental tracks to link them together. In some cases, the reworkings aren’t that radically different. The likes of ‘Mission Desire’, ‘Slow Motion’ and ‘Did You See Butterflies?’ essentially receive softer and more soothing electro-refocusing but with their main satisfying ingredients remaining to the fore. Other cuts are more noticeably refashioned. Hence, ‘Ravenspoint’ is moved from its acid-folk framing in a murkier psych-rock-meets-baroque setting; ‘I Wish’ is turned from a pulsing Stereolab-like krautrock groover into a synth-saturated amniotic ballad; ‘H>A>K’ benefits from a more propulsive burbling presentation with a wilder freak-out coda; and ‘Arrows’ is elevated from being a twangy subterranean prowler to a loftier spacey-dub-pop drifter. The freshly-built bridging-material holds some intrigue and pleasure too. For instance, ‘Battle Ropes’ glowers in its 'Blade Runner' cinematics; ‘Signs Are Rising’ clatters and fizzes like a primordial Cluster; and ‘Found Birds’ ventures into atonal post-apocalyptic landscaping. Although ‘Loops in the Secret Society’ is ultimately more of a stock-taking consolidation exercise than a significant shift forward for Jane Weaver’s muse, its reshaped yet familiar hooks and lateral frontier explorations should keep the faithful more than content until the next proper studio set.

Track Listing:-
1 Element (Loops Variation)
2 Milk Loop
3 Arrows (Loops Variation)
4 Found Birds
5 H>A>K (Loops Variation)
6 Did You See Butterflies (Loops Variation)
7 Sun House
8 I Wish (Loops Variation)
9 Mission Desire (Loops Variation)
10 Battle Ropes
11 Found Birds (Loops Variation)
12 Slow Motion (Loops Variation)
13 Margins
14 Cells (Loops Variation)
15 Code (Loops Variation)
16 Signs Are Rising
17 Ravenspoint (Loops Variation)
18 Sous le même soleil, vie disparu dans le ciel (Loops Variation)
19 Majic Milk (Loops Variation)
20 Conduit
21 Ivana Vessel
22 Battle Ropes (Loops Variation)

Band Links:-

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors