# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Rattle - Sequence

  by Dave Goodwin

published: 10 / 12 / 2018

Rattle - Sequence
Label: Upset The Rhythm
Format: CD


Demanding but compelling second album from Nottingham-based experimental drum and vocal duo Rattle

Anyone who knows Nottingham duo Rattle will know that Katharine Eira Brown and Theresa Wrigley who make up this brave pair rely on nothing but drums and other percussion and the power of their own voices. This is different, for sure. Rattle’s debut album was released in 2016 like this new offering Upset The Rhythm/I Own You and was hailed with much critical praise from some quarters due to the hypnotic starkness that their sound presents. The following six months saw Rattle support Animal Collective on a UK tour before heading out around Europe with The Julie Ruin. Theresa also known as Tez also plays in another Nottingham band Fists, as does Eira also known as Katy plays in Kugumaza again from the same city. It is fair to say that Rattle is an ongoing experimental musical project working with different rhythm and occasional vocals and their songs spin and sway in all directions. The album consists of four tracks all written and recorded as they were first played. 'DJ', the first track is centred around cymbals and snare and builds in sound, whereas the following track 'Disco' is more of a spiky affair. The first true lyrics are heard on the third 'Signal' which sports a more uniformed and even beat. 'The Rocks' finishes the album building slowly before it finished abruptly. A demanding but compelling second album

Track Listing:-
1 DJ
2 Disco
3 Signal
4 The Rocks

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

digital downloads


most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors