# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Death and Vanilla - To Where the Wild Things Are

  by Anthony Strutt

published: 21 / 5 / 2015

Death and Vanilla - To Where the Wild Things Are
Label: Fire Records
Format: CD


Fine UK debut album from psychedelic-tinged Swedish two-piece, Death and Vanilla

Swedish duo Death and Vanilla make music which is as odd as it is compelling. Formed in Malmo by Marleen Nilsson and Anders Hansson in 2010, they released their debut EP. 2012 saw their eponymous debut album sell out on pre-orders, and them also receive and accept the invitation to score 1932 silent horror classic, 'Vampyr'. Now signed to Fire Records, they have released their debut UK album 'To Where the Wild Things Are', which has already been made Album of the Month by cool record shop, Rough Trade, whom have also thrown in a bonus EP to the deal. 'Necessary Distortions' opens the album, and combines restrained psychedelia with the dark elegance of Tindersticks, while Marleen's vocals recall the late Trish Keenan of Broadcast 'The Optic Nerve' floats off again into Broadcast territory and is played very gently as if not to awake a sleeping child. 'Arcana' is both hazy and gentle, smoky and exotic, an instant trip that transports you to the edges of your mind. 'California Owls' is like a slowed down 'Sunday Morning' by the Velvet Underground. 'Time Travel' is reminiscent of the Doors with its punchy keyboards, while Marleen's vocals dance in the summer brightness. 'Follow the Light' is lo-fi, and, introducing acoustic guitar, full of spring's bounce, like a child discovering things for the first time. 'Shadow and Shape' is seductive and hypnotic, and makes you dance on the wave lengths left behind. 'The Hidden Reverse', like the Raveonettes being told off for being too loud and way too fast, is slowed right on down. 'Moogskogen' is as haunting as 1970's horror soundtrack in its spooky oddness, while it's notes hang like the wrong leaves on the wrong tree. 'Something Unknown You Need to Know' swims along, taking you along for the ride on its own gentle journey. An intoxicating experience

Track Listing:-
1 Necessary Distortions
2 The Optic Nerve
3 Arcana
4 California Owls
5 Time Travel
6 Follow the Light
7 Shadow and Shape
8 The Hidden Reverse
9 Moogskogen
10 Something Unknown You Need to Know

Band Links:-

Label Links:-

Have a Listen:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors