# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Handsome Jack - Do What Comes Naturally

  by Dave Goodwin

published: 17 / 11 / 2014

Handsome Jack - Do What Comes Naturally
Label: Alive Naturalsound
Format: CD


Fantastic blues/soul rock on second album from Buffalo, New York-based group, Handsome Jack

Handsome Jack come from Buffalo, New York and began as a blues garage rock band before and during their high school years. After school, they moved out of the garage and developed their sound into a natural soulful boogie, but still had their feet rooted in raw blues. They’ve shared the stage with the Sheepdogs, Blue Cheer, Gov’t Mule, J. Geils, the Hold Steady, and Robert Randolph to name just a few. The four elements that make up this boogie soul outfit are Jamison Passuite (guitar/vocals), Joey Verdonselli (bass/vocals), Phil Allport (organ/guitar) and Chad Salmeri (drums). Produced by Zachary Gabbard of the Buffalo Killers, “Do What Comes Naturally" is the latest offering from Handsome Jack and features Bob Nave (of the legendary Lemon Pipers) on hammond organ. Packaged in a beautiful double album type card CD case with retro photos by Natalie Solotes, it impeccably meanders through deep dark mid-tempo boogies, smoky upbeat burners, and soulful feel-good rockers with a serious swagger. The vocals on here remind me of 60's R&B maestro A.C.Reed during his period recording for Nike Recordings. Couple that with some wonderful Muscle Shoals type Hammond from Nave, and it is a proper foot-tapper from start to finish. Highlights come thick and fast, but include the harmonica-led 'Creepin' and the Stax/Volt-influenced 'Between the Lines'. Taking the simple line of “You and me”, it gets right down to basics and proves that you really don't have to venture far to find the groove in this package – it is in every track. Soulful stirrings then from Handsome Jack, which are guaranteed to get your feet tapping. Marvellous!

Track Listing:-
1 Echoes
2 Creepin'
3 Between the Lines
4 Dead Tracks
5 Leave It All Behind
6 Right On
7 Dry Spell
8 Ropes and Chains
9 You and Me
10 Wasted Time

Band Links:-

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

digital downloads


most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors