# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Lorelle Meets The Obsolete - Chambers

  by Anthony Strutt

published: 1 / 3 / 2014

Lorelle Meets The Obsolete - Chambers
Label: Sonic Cathedral
Format: CD


Hypnotic alternative rock on third album from Mexican duo, Lorelle Meets The Obsolete

'Chambers' is the third album from Mexican duo Lorelle Meets the Obsolete, but the first that has been made available in Britain. The vinyl pressing will be in red, green and white vinyl. The band hail originally from Guadalajara, but are now based in California, Their first album 'Our Welfare' came out in 2011, while its follow-up 'Corruptible Faces' was released in 2013. The band made their British debut on the long now sold out Sonic Cathedral EP, 'Psych for Sore Eyes'.They spent time in 2013, touring North America and then supported the Cure in Mexico City. At this time they met Spacemen 3's Sonic Boom whom went on and mastered this 'Chambers'. This fine album opens with 'What's Holding You?' which got the UK's radio stations in a bit of a huff, It is a fuzzed up psychedelic number, in which singer Lorelle's number is similar to the Raveonettes' Sharin Foo's vocal delivery, while The Obsolote's guitars loudly ring out in true White Hills style. 'The Myth of the Wise' comes over as fresh as hearing the Pixies for the first ever time, while vocally Lorelle is in Opal territory. 'Dead Leaves' is slow and seductive and has all the magic of an early 4AD track. 'I Can't Feel the Outside' has a more chunkier delivery, while vocally The Obselete, real name Alberto Gonzalez, sounds a lot like Sune Rose Wagner of the Raveonettes. 'Music for Dozens' has a dirty 'Raw Power' flow. It is as if being played in a sandstorm on retro instruments, and it cuts like prime time Jimi Hendrix Experience while Lorelle's vocals sound lost and lonely. 'Grieving' is an alt. country ballad, full of mystery, turned upside down, with the roar of Sonic Youth to back it up. 'Sealed Scene' is a garage rock number, while 'Third Wave' is understated and calmer but has an edgy undercurrent that makes it as haunting as the other tracks on the record. '13 Flowers' is a loud instrumental to start, which gathers pace and speed before exploding colourfully 'Thoughts about High Noon' closes the album, which is a rockabilly retro, with enough jangle and wah wah to please any guitar freak. A lovely album from a very likeable band.

Track Listing:-
1 What's Holding You?
2 The Myth of the Wise
3 Dead Leaves
4 I Can't Feel the Outside
5 Music For Dozens
6 Grieving
7 Sealed Scene
8 Third Wave
9 13 Flowers
10 Thoughts About Night Noon

Band Links:-

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

digital downloads


most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors