# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Father Murphy - 8 Heretical Views

  by Maarten Schiethart

published: 10 / 3 / 2013

Father Murphy - 8 Heretical Views
Label: Aagoo Records
Format: CD


Fabulous collection of remixes of Bologna post-rock act Father Murphy's ''Anyway Your Children Will Deny It' album, which was released last year

All the tracks from 2012's original 'Anyway Your Children Will Deny It' album are worked over. The original album, whilst not shy at all, is offered a plethora of possible new views from musicians selected by the band, whose remixes come in the same track sequence. The remixes here present a myriad of ways to re-interpret Father Murphy's cheerfully neurotic noise, and become true counterparts to the originals. The contributions are from relative unknowns; Happy New Year, W-H-I-T-E, Zulus, Thulebasen, YVETTE, Noel V. Harmonson, Black Dice and EMA. The general tone compares to the works of Black Dice, and the loud fun and a lust for experiment are obvious. The striking change comes from the added beats, pulsating tribal touch and freaky rhythm patterns; punktronica if you need a catchy new word. There is less noise, less rock music and in a sense this turns out to be a logical progression. From the dance smash mix by Happy New Year, via Zulus' electro-pop refix to YVETTE's industrial approach, the '8 Heretical Views' provide a quieter character equally well. The result is pretty fabulous.

Track Listing:-
1 Diggin' The Bottom Of The Hollow
2 His Face Showed No Distortions
3 How We Ended Up With Feelings Of Guilt
4 His Face Showed No Distortions
5 It Is Funny, It Is Restful, Both Came Quickly
6 Diggin' The Bottom Of The Hollow
7 In Praise Of Our Doubts
8 Their Consciousness
9 In The Flood With The Flood
10 Don't Let Yourself Be Hurt This Time

Band Links:-

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors