# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Azure Blue - Rule of Thirds

  by Dixie Ernill

published: 27 / 2 / 2012

Azure Blue - Rule of Thirds
Label: Matinee Recordings
Format: CD


Superb indie pop on debut album from Azure Blue, the project of Swedish electronic musician Tobias Isaksson

Anyone who covers a Grant McLennan (of the Go-Betweens fame) song is going to earn bonus points from me and the fact that Tobias Isaksson, the mastermind behind Azure Blue, makes such a fine job of it as the wonderful opener to his new project's debut LP ensures a favourable ear from the outset. As good as his version of 'Fingers'is, it is not the outstanding cut on this nine track album, as he proves himself to be, having already made waves beyond his native Sweden in two previous bands, Irene and Laurel Music an accomplished songwriter in his own right. Musically Azure Blue is very reminiscent of early 1990's Sarah band Blueboy and in particular their excellent 'Unisex' album, but also has a knowing nod towards fellow Scandinavian label mates Cats On Fire. Indeed there is also a hint of A-Ha on 'Long Way Down' as Isaksson weaves a delicate tapestry of electronic music round his semi-crooner type voice that even has the slightest of Morrissey-style inflections. The two singles from the LP, 'The Catcher in the Rye' and 'Little Confusion', are solid dreamy indie-pop songs with only the sometimes too obvious lyrics offering a slight detraction, but it is almost like heaping scorn on your kid brother's crayola drawings to find fault when they are written in someone's second language. The mid-album couplet of 'Dreamy Eyes' and "The Shore' are probably the standout tracks, but in truth there isn't a weak moment to be found. The only criticism that could be levelled is that 'Rule of Thirds' is not a ground-breaking musical adventure, but that suits me fine as the indie-pop template is always a brilliant starting point.

Track Listing:-
1 Fingers
2 The Catcher in the Rye
3 Seasons
4 Little Confusions
5 Long Way Down
6 Dreamy Eyes
7 The Shore
8 Two Hearts
9 Chesil Beach

Band Links:-

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

digital downloads



Beneath the Hill I Smell the Sea (2015)
Fabulous conclusion to a fine trio of electro-pop albums to Azure Blue,the solo project of Swedish musician Tobias Isaksson

most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors