# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Bobby McGees - L'Appropriation Bourgoisie De La Bobby McGees

  by Tommy Gunnarsson

published: 6 / 6 / 2009

Bobby McGees - L'Appropriation Bourgoisie De La Bobby McGees
Label: Cherryade Records
Format: CD


Enjoyable, snappy-sounding twee pop on debut album from Brighton-based four-piece, the Bobby McGee's

Even though I had heard of the Bobby McGee’s before, I had never actually heard any of their songs until I put this, their debut album, in my CD-player. I have understood from the word on the street that they are quite popular on the tweecore scene (which must be a little like being the world’s tallest midget), and I remember them playing a very celebrated show on the Emmaboda festival here in Sweden a couple of years ago. When listening to the opening track, 'Tractatus locigo-musica' (which probably isn’t the correct title of the song, as the band seems to think that making up new song titles for the sleeve is great fun), I started to think of… the Lovely Eggs actually, which is a strange co-incidence, as I have reviewed the latter’s second album here on Pennyblackmusic in this very edition. While the Lovely Eggs tend to be annoying with all their ramshackle and noise, the Bobby McGee’s are more cute and melodic. A little like an acoustic version of Bearsuit, or the Lovely Eggs, in fact. We get a lot of ukuleles and harmoniums and drumming on what sounds like a suitcase or two. The band, which consists of four members, also likes to make short songs (15 tracks in 30 minutes), which is something I have always liked. There are few bands that master the art of making a long song interesting (The Decemberists being of them, even though their last album was quite horrible, sadly), but it’s also something of achievement to manage to squeeze everything you want to say with a song within the two minute frame. I think the Bobby McGee’s do that very well. The Bobby McGee’s are probably one of the most twee-ish bands around today, and I think that many of those that don't listen to indiepop, thinks that this is what all the bands in that genre sound like, which is a bit sad. With that said, I must also say that this album isn’t bad. Not at all.

Track Listing:-
1 Tractatus Logico-Musica
2 A Note On The Watson Problem
3 We Never Sleep
4 Buckfast At Tiffany's
5 Prick Up Your Ears
6 Certum Est Quia Possible
7 Goodbye Blue Monday
8 A Masonic Youth
9 Kawai/Kawai!!
10 Come The Fuck On Lara!
11 Kabhi Khushi, Khabie Gham
12 It's Faster Stan
13 Teaching The Obvious 2 The Idiots
14 Wovon Man Nicht Sprechen Kann, Daruber Mus Man Schwen
15 The Torment Of Existence Weighed Against The Horror Of Non-Being

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors