# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Ida Maria - Fortress Round My Heart

  by Sarah Rowland

published: 3 / 3 / 2009

Ida Maria - Fortress Round My Heart
Label: Waterfall
Format: CD


Overly hasty re-release, which despite extra songs and a different track order, proves largely unnecessary of Swedish songwriter Ida Maria's energetic debut album from last year

Ida Maria has re-released her debut album Fortress Round My Heart' less than a year after it was first released in summer 2008. Why? Well, truth is I have no idea. The art work is different. The track order is different and there are three extra songs. It’s a good album, but then it was a good album before. When I first heard this record it was energetic and fresh. Maria’s voice has an earthy quality and her songs have a real sense of fun about them. The main thing the album, however, promised was better things to come. It promised a follow-up that might be a little more mature while still capturing Maria’s sense of humour and rich vocals. The new songs fit with the original songs, so maybe Maria didn’t want to build a new album around them. Even so, why not just release another EP while she was working on a second album ? Anyone who bought the album the first time round will be disappointed if they buy it again for only three songs. If you haven’t heard it though, there’s nothing missing if you go for the re-release over the original. As re-releases go this one seems overly hasty. Personally I’d rather have waited another six months for a second album full of new material.

Track Listing:-
1 Oh My God
2 Morning Light
3 Queen Of The World
4 Stella
5 Forgive Me
6 Leave Me, Let Me Go
7 I Like You So Much Better When You're Naked And I Like Me So Much Better When You're Naked
8 Louie
9 Drive Away My Heart
10 Keep Me Warm
11 In The End
12 We're All Going To Hell

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors