# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Motion City Soundtrack - Even If It Kills Me

  by Geraint Jones

published: 8 / 11 / 2007

Motion City Soundtrack - Even If It Kills Me
Label: Epitaph Records
Format: CD


Clichéd and overly derivative pop punk on third album from the much hyped Motion City Soundtrack

Polished with an inch of its life during two separate sessions in New York, Motion City Soundtrack’s third album whilst undeniably frothy, fuzzy and occasionally fun is ultimately a superficial and unfulfilling body of work. The recording sessions, helmed respectively by Adam Schlesinger (Fountains Of Wayne) together with Eli Janney (Girls Against Boys) and Ric Ocasek (The Cars) could have been something quite special but despite their prestigious credentials, there’s only so much you can do with such generic, tired, heard it all before, material. It’s performed well enough and you could argue there are a few hooks here and there – the ironically self-produced ‘Broken Heart’ for example, but for the most part they’re simply not barbed enough to make a lasting impression. Lacking any real edge, given lead singer Justin Pierre’s well-documented struggles with alcohol abuse, fortunately now overcome, some edgier, darker more impassioned material mightn’t have been too much too expect. Too often clichéd and overly derivative, Motion City Soundtrack have some way to go before there’s any danger of them emulating the success of Weezer, who they aspire to, either artistically or commercially.

Track Listing:-
1 Fell in Love Without You
2 This Is For Real
3 It Had To Be You
4 Last Night
5 Calling All Cops
6 Can't Finish What You Started
7 The Conversation
8 Broken Heart
9 Hello Helicopter
10 Where I Belong
11 Point Of Extinction
12 Antonia
13 Even If It Kills Me
14 Not Asking You To Leave
15 The Worst Part...
16 Fell In Love Without You (Acoustic)
17 It Had To Be You (Acoustic)
18 Broken Heart (Acoustic)
19 Can't Finish What You Started (Acoustic)
20 Point Of Extinction (Acoustic)
21 Digital Booklet: Even If It Kills Me [Bonus Track Version]

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors