# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Rob Kendt - I'm Not Sentimental

  by Geraint Jones

published: 27 / 8 / 2007

Rob Kendt - I'm Not Sentimental
Label: Ruby Records
Format: CD


Eclectic second album from theatre critic by day, singer-songwriter by night rob Kendt

Theatre critic by day, ivory-tinkling eclectic singer-songwriter by night; Rob Kendt has opted for an interesting combination of career and play. On this his second album, following his 2002 debut ‘I Hope It’s Me’, Rob Kendt displays a penchant for quirky eclecticism and invention that deserves to gain him more recognition for his musicality. Drawing on pop, Americana, jazz and show tunes, none of which I suspect he would deny as inspiration, ‘I’m Not Sentimental’, while not without occasional flaws, nevertheless rollicks along through the majority of its 40-odd minute duration in mostly entertaining fashion – never more so than when he employs his bizarrely winning interpretive skills on ‘Oops I Did Bungalow Bill’ which introduces Britney Spears to the Beatles like no one before or probably ever again! A tad too lounge jazz in parts for me, Kendt’s slightly deadpan vocals – Ben Folds goes swing – might not be to all tastes, his arrangement skills however are beyond question. Backed up by a slew of impressive musicians, the playing throughout is flawless. Lyrically verbose at times perhaps – no lyrics included unfortunately which might have helped – Rob Kendt’s new album rewards patience spent, which reveal it to be deceptively pleasurable in parts – album opener ‘Lullaby’ with its irresistible flugelhorn and ‘Pick Me’, Kendt’s dabble with Americana featuring superb pedal steel courtesy of Sean Caffey (Gina Villalobos), two prime examples. Overall a surprisingly intriguing effort.

Track Listing:-
1 Lullaby
2 I'm Not Sentimental
3 Suspicious Parties
4 Pick Me
5 Graded On a Curve
6 Luck
7 Oops I Did Bungalow Bill
8 Quiet Girl
9 Nothing to Prove
10 Summer Is Coming
11 Shelter From the Storm
12 My Life in Pants
13 Only the Lonely/Je Te Veux
14 Inspections

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors