# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Aggrolites - Reggae Hit LA

  by Daniel Cressey

published: 9 / 7 / 2007

Aggrolites - Reggae Hit LA
Label: Hellcat
Format: CD


Razor sharp and playful second album from American reggae group the Aggrolites, which makes the perfect summmer record

From its beginning to its ending 'Reggae Hit LA' is what our British readers are well in need of at the moment – a perfect summer record. The sort of record that makes you want to buy a red convertible and sit in it until the sun comes out so you can blast it out with the top down. The sort of record that actually seems to make the rain clouds outside my windows dissipate when it comes on the stereo. Previous albums from this American reggae group have been a hugely authentic and hugely enjoyable stomp. This time round the Aggrolites seem to have traded in their stomping boots for something a bit more relaxed. The eight months spent on tour before recording this album have done nothing to dull their cutting edge and the music is as razor sharp as ever. The vibe though is different on 'Reggae Hit LA', compared with previous albums. A more playful spirit infects the whole album, from the instrumental tracks that rush over you like shiver of pleasure; to the party-mantra of 'Work It’; to ‘Let’s Pack Our Bags’, perhaps the best reggae love song since Winston Groovy’s ‘Please Don’t Make Me Cry’. If it is raining where you are – go and get a copy of 'Reggae Hit LA' and summer will find you. If it is sunny where you are what the hell are you doing reading this? – get this album, buy a red convertible and turn the volume up.

Track Listing:-
1 Work It
2 Faster Bullet
3 You Got 5
4 Reconcile
5 Reggae Hit L.A.
6 Let's Pack Our Bags
7 Left Red
8 Free Time
9 Lucky Streak
10 Rhyme & Light
11 Well Runs Dry
12 Hip To It
13 Fire Girl
14 Baldhead Rooster
15 We Came To Score

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors