# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Junior Boys - So This Is Goodbye

  by Sarah Maybank

published: 28 / 6 / 2007

Junior Boys - So This Is Goodbye
Label: Domino Records
Format: CD


Overtly melancholic and self-pitying debut album from Canadian bedroom electronic album Junior Boys, now re-released with an extra album of remixes

Famous friends: more useful to success-hungry wannabes than compliant victims are to Gordon Ramsay. Look at what Bowie did for Iggy, Chas Chandler did for Jimi, Big Brother did for... well, you know what we mean. And now here come a cadre of remixers to rescue Junior Boys from perpetual, ceiling-gazing ennui. Junior Boys deliver bedroom-cosy electronica with the maudlin self-pity of a recently divorced bloke who has never learned to cook, gazing at his umpteenth microwave meal for one. With the exception of the laid-back but strangely raunchy 'In The Morning', they flatter to deceive for track after track, commencing each with tempting electronic beeps and squiggles, then slumping into mid-tempo nothingness. Luckily, like a bunch of pint-guzzling mates, along come Hot Chip and friends to spruce them up and drag them down to the disco. The moment essentials such as rhythm and pace enter the mix Junior Boys suddenly become a lot more fun – but all in all there’s nothing about their dance/misery schtick that 'Disco'-era Pet Shop Boys didn’t do with Everest-sized amounts more humour, heart and soul-stirring panache.

Track Listing:-
1 Double Shadow
2 The Equalizer
3 First Time
4 Count Souvenirs
5 In The Morning
6 So This Is Goodbye
7 Like A Child
8 Caught In A Wave
9 When No One Cares
10 FM
11 Like A Child (Carl Craig Remix)
12 In The Morning (Hot Chip Remix)
13 FM (Tensnake Remix)
14 The Equalizer (Morgan Geist Graphic Remix)
15 In The Morning (Alex Smoke Remix)
16 Double Shadow (Kode 9 Remix)
17 FM (Marsen Jules Remix)
18 The Equalizer (iTunes Session)
19 Under The Sun (iTunes Session)
20 FM (iTunes Session)
21 When No One Cares (iTunes Session)

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

digital downloads


Begone Dull Care (2009)
Diverse combination of electronica and rhythm and blues on third album from Ontario/Berlin-based duo, the Junior Boys

most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors