# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Angels Of Light And Akron/family - Akron/family And Angels Of Light

  by Jamie Rowland

published: 20 / 11 / 2005

Angels Of Light And Akron/family - Akron/family And Angels Of Light
Label: Young God Records
Format: CD


Engaging joint offering on Young God Records from experimental rockers Akron/Family and the Angels of Light, the current musical incarnation of ex-Swans man Michael Gira

This release on Young God Records sees the Akron/Family teaming up with ex-Swans man Michael Gira; here under his musical moniker Angels of Light. Now, before I get into reviewing this CD, I should say that I find Akron /Family to be one of the most exciting bands around at the moment, and it’s very lucky I’m going to start gushing about them pretty much straight away (actually I think I’ve already started). I can only apologise for this. The first 7 tracks on the album are just Akron/Family by themselves. As we’ve already established, I like this band a lot, so let me explain to you why. On tracks like ‘Moment’, ‘Future Myth’ and ‘Raising the Sparks’, it sounds like the band are having just the best time ever recording them, and that comes through in the music. This sense of enjoyment is infectious. It gets into you, and you can’t help but feel good while listening to these songs. Or, at least, I can’t. So that’s the fun songs. But Akron/Family are also incredibly adept at creating heart-breakingly beautiful and atmospheric pieces of music. Examples on this record are ‘We All Will’, ‘Dylan pt. 2’ and ‘Oceanside’. Akron/Family’s first, self-titled record was only released earlier this year, and it too was a wonderful album, but I can’t help but feel that the band have come on leaps and bounds in their song-writing. The music is like a fusion of Radiohead, the Beatles, folk, country, pop and even a smidgeon of noise just to satisfy everybody. If you had to find a fault, then perhaps the lyrics can at times be slightly ostentatious, but no more so than any number of other bands, and not so much that it distracts from the music. The last 5 songs are all Angels of Light songs (well, and a cover of Dylan’s ‘I Pity the Poor Immigrant’). Rather than Gira by himself, he has, however, called on Akron/Family to be his backing band. “I’ve never had a better backing band…” says Gira, and it’s easy to see where he’s coming from. The songs are great in their own right, switching between Gothic moodiness and emotion and sweetness. ‘The Provider’ in particular sticks out; a brilliant, six minute piece, full of energy which flows between three parts. What the Akron/Family add to these songs is a depth and intensity which perfectly compliments Gira’s vocals and song writing style – at times Johnny Cash, at other points more Nick Cave, but overall just Michael Gira. This is a great album, and definitely one worth getting hold of. Both acts deliver the goods with every single track, and I personally couldn’t help myself but listen to it through again after I heard it for the first time. If I had to choose a couple of bands I was really excited about hearing more from in 2006, it would be Angels of Light & Akron/Family.

Track Listing:-
1 Akron/Family- Awake
2 Akron/Family- Moment
3 Akron/Family- We All Will
4 Akron/Family- Future Myth
5 Akron/Family- Dylan Part II
6 Akron/Family- Ocean Side
7 Akron/Family- Raising The Sparks
8 Angels Of Light- I Pity The Poor Immigrant
9 Angels Of Light- The Provider
10 Angels Of Light- One For Hope
11 Angels Of Light- Mother/Father
12 Angels Of Light- Come For My Woman

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors