Pennyblackmusic Presents: Heist & Idiot Son + The Volunteered & Simon Bromide

Headlining are Heist with support from Idiot Son , The Volunteered and Simon Bromide
Hosted at the Water Rats London, Saturday 10th September. Doors open 7:30; First band on at 7:45; Admission £10 on the door or £8 in advance from We got Tickets
Located at ....... Click here to view in Goggle Maps We look forward to seeing you on the night. For more information Click here

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Various - The New Crazy

  by Benjamin Howarth

published: 19 / 8 / 2005

Various - The New Crazy
Label: Deep Elm
Format: CD


Latest sampler from the ever prolific Deep Elm label, woth seeking out for its tracks by Sounds Like Violence and Settlefish alone

A thumping drum beat, some driving guitar chords, a second guitar, another burst of drums and then the bass. Finally, vocals. The singer sounding like he is trying to tear his vocal chords out. Sounds Like Violence are back! Deep Elm here offer another label sampler, one of many in my collection. This predominately showcases their more recent signings, although there are a few offerings from bands that have now departed the label. This is fine by me. I think that the recent signings are more diverse and exciting anyway, as they move away from the tried and tested post-hardcore styling. But the most important feature of this compilation is that it features the first taster of Sounds Like Violence’s full length debut, currently being recorded. 'Nothing' is only the ninth song they have released, but it adds further weight to the impression that they are as good a young band as I can imagine. Not that Sounds Like Violence are the only band to look out for on this album, by any means. Settlefish have made a storming second album with 'The Plural of the Choir' and 'The Barnacle Beach', which is featured here, is one of its best songs. An edgy post-punk pop song about childhood memories, it showcases the strengths of this Italian combo expertly. Desert City Soundtrack’s second album is about to be released, and on the strength of their beautiful offering, 'Batteries', a piano based song drenched in horns, it is one to look out for. Claire De Lune are featured twice, and it is their new track that really shines, 'Killjoy', a song that would be guaranteed floor filler at any respectable indie disco. I enjoyed their debut album, but this track is a cut above in class. Latterman also feature twice, and they have been getting a great reception on the punk scene, with their poppy politically inspired emo. 'Secondhand Stories' offer an acoustic based song that sounds like a vintage mid-90's Oasis B-Side (a compliment, honest!) There are a couple of lesser moments, granted. Eleven Minutes Away are generic screamo post hardcore, and though catchy, offer little invention. I’ve never been much of a Slowride fan, and the two songs here don’t change my mind. Lock and Key have energy, but as I thought when I heard their album, sound too much like Hot Water Music for comfort. The real low point is the track from Fightstar (yes, the band with the posh boy from Busted). I didn’t even know they were involved with Deep Elm, but I hope it doesn’t last. Their offering is generic grunge-metal, and, though Charlie Simpson is a very strong vocalist, it is hard to stomach a song so horribly clichéd. Yet, this remains a worthy release, and since it is so cheap, the weak tracks are inoffensive. Worth the asking price for Sounds Like Violence and Settlefish alone!

Track Listing:-
1 Latterman- Doom! Doom! Doom!
2 Lock And Key- 303
3 Fightstar- Palahniuk's Laughter
4 Clair De Lune- The Things They Carried
5 Sounds Like Violence- Nothing
6 Benton Falls- Hold Out
7 Secondhand Stories- The Evening
8 Burns Out Bright- Sincerely I
9 Eleven Minutes Away- P.S. I Hate You
10 Latterman- Fear And Loathing On Long Island
11 Clair De Lune- Killjoy
12 Slowride- Rust Killer
13 Settlefish- The Barnacle Beach
14 Surrounded- Safe Tomorrow Sun
15 Desert City Soundtrack- Batteries
16 Planes Mistaken For Stars- Scratching Rounds
17 Sounds Like Violence- You Give Me Heartattacks
18 The Appleseed Cast- Steps And Numbers
19 Brandtson- The Rookie Year
20 Slowride- Just Do It
21 No Artist -Untitled

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

digital downloads

most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors