Pennyblackmusic Presents: Johny Brown (Band of Holy Joy) - With Hector Gannet and Andy Thompson @The Water Rats, London, Saturday 25, May, 2024

Headlining are Johny Brown (Band of Holy Joy) With support from Hector Gannet And Andy Thompson
Hosted at the Water Rats London , Saturday 25th May, 2024. Doors open 7:30pm. First band on at 8:00pm; Admission £15 on the door or £12 in advance from We got Tickets
Located at ....... Click here to view in Goggle Maps We look forward to seeing you on the night. For more information Click here

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Sleater-Kinney - Little Rope

  by Nick Dent-Robinson

published: 8 / 3 / 2024

Sleater-Kinney - Little Rope
Label: Loma Vista
Format: CD


Discordant and bleak but powerful eleventh album from Olympia-formed veteran alternative rock outfit Sleater-Kinney

Their band name derives from a street in Washington State, USA and Pennsylvania-born lead singer Corin Tucker, 51, and Seattle-born guitarist Carrie Brownstein, 49, have based their new album ‘Little Rope’ around the sound of 1980s alternative rock plus some 1990s grunge. The songs on the record are a tough listen at times but highly expressive and deal with bereavement and rehabilitation. Soon after starting to record this album, in the autumn of 2022, Brownstein's mother and stepfather were tragically killed in a car crash while holidaying in Italy - so it is understandable that emotions are raw. The fast and furious opening track, ‘Hell’ is just as bleak as its title suggests. On ‘Hunt You Down’ Tucker sings of being “down so low I pay rent to the floor”! However, there is laudable resolve amid the anguish and ‘Say It Like You Mean It’ is a powerful pop song with a demand for honesty in a crumbling romance whilst ‘Dress Yourself’ gives an acute sense that life must always go on. “Give me a reason, give me a remedy,” Tucker pleads as Brownstein augments these prayers with unexpected bursts of discordant guitar. ‘Little Rope’ reaffirms the fine musicianship of Sleater-Kinney and will be appreciated by the band's growing number of followers.

Track Listing:-
1 Hell
2 Needlessly Wild
3 Say It Like You Mean It
4 Hunt You Down
5 Small Finds
6 Don’t Feel Right
7 Six Mistakes
8 Crusader
9 Dress Yourself
10 Untidy Creature

Band Links:-

Play in YouTube:-

Have a Listen:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors