Pennyblackmusic Presents: Heist & Idiot Son + The Volunteered & Simon Bromide

Headlining are Heist with support from Idiot Son , The Volunteered and Simon Bromide
Hosted at the Water Rats London, Saturday 10th September. Doors open 7:30; First band on at 7:45; Admission £10 on the door or £8 in advance from We got Tickets
Located at ....... Click here to view in Goggle Maps We look forward to seeing you on the night. For more information Click here

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Mark Mulholland - Revolutions Go in Circles

  by Steve Kinrade

published: 31 / 7 / 2022

Mark Mulholland - Revolutions Go in Circles
Label: Ports of Call Music
Format: CD


Accomplished third solo album from in-demand session player, engineer and producer Mark Mulholland

It seems that Mark Mulholland is something of a musical “gun for hire”, as not only is 'Revolutions Go In Circles; his third solo album coming off the back of 2020’s 'The Devil On The Stairs', he is also something of an in demand session player, engineer and producer. The songs that make up this album were also very much recorded “on the hoof”, recorded in such locations as Germany, America and France, utilising the musicians that he met on his musical adventures. He used the two years that the Covid lockdown encompassed to re-work old songs and write fresh material. The result is technically accomplished album, with a really well thought out approach to production, and treads the many influences Mulholland expouses to great effect, for example the reggae-influenced 'On My Way'. His vocal delivery, to these ears at least, resembles Tom Petty, which is no bad thing, and his musicianship clearly shines, for instance his banjo playing on 'Filling Up The Silence'. Where Mulholland, however, really scores for the new listener is when he seems to go left-field production wise, for example 'River Walk' and 'Nine Hundred Miles'. All in all, a very accomplished album which is deserving of repeated listenings, and one that his established fanbase will enjoy. It would, however, be really interesting to hear the results if Mulholland decided to throw the production shackles off completely, as it is clear he has a lot to offer.

Track Listing:-
1 Moving On
2 Filling up the Silence
3 River Walk
4 Getting There
5 Walk a While
6 Live Anywhere
7 Your Race is Almost Run
8 Carousel
9 Head Against the Wall
10 Silence Falling Slow
11 On my Way
12 900 Miles

Band Links:-

Play in YouTube:-

Have a Listen:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

digital downloads



most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors