# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Various - C91

  by Tommy Gunnarsson

published: 18 / 1 / 2022

Various - C91
Label: Cherry Red Records
Format: CD Box


Next instalment in Cherry Red’s successful C-series is ‘C91’, which shows that 1991 was a bad year for indie music, but the compilation itself is a joy to behold

Almost two years ago, I reviewed the previous instalment in Cherry Red’s C-series (taking off from NME’s iconic indiepop compilation ‘C86’), ‘C90’, and realised that 1990 wasn’t a brilliant year for indie music. Now, the time has come for the next instalment, ‘C91’, and after listening to all three discs I have to say that 1991 wasn’t much better. Rather the opposite. Among the 59 tracks here, very few are enjoyable, to be honest. But let’s take a closer look at what we have on offer here. As usual with these compilations, there are quite a few bands that went on to become more successful within the next years, like Manic Street Preachers, Dodgy, Saint Etienne, The Cranberries, The Charlatans and Lush. Their contributions on ‘C91’ are mostly early singles or album tracks, with The Cranberries showcasing their initially softer side (such as on the brilliant single ‘Linger’, taken from their debut album, just like the song here, ‘Them’). There are also quite a few bands that were very hyped at the time, but nowadays hardly anyone remembers them. I’m looking at you, Sultans of Ping FC, Daisy Chainsaw and The Dylans (among others). In 1991, Britpop was not yet a thing, and instead most indie bands in the UK continued to mix guitars with ‘groovy’ drums and beats, just like they did in 1989 and 1990 – we can call it The Curse of the Happy Mondays. But as on ‘C90’, there are some bands that never decided to follow that boring path, and instead kept walking the same old way they always had, like the Sarah Records bands Gentle Despite, Heavenly, Blueboy and The Sweetest Ache. No baggy drums on those recordings! As usual, the compilation in itself is a joy to behold, with the same informative booklet etc that we have come to expect from Cherry Red’s excellent compilation. I will leave you will the same conclusion that I made on that review two years ago – it’s not Cherry Red’s fault that 1991 sucked for pop music.

Track Listing:-
1 Daisy Chainsaw – Love Your Money
2 Dodgy – Summer Fayre
3 Kingmaker – When Lucy’s Down
4 Catherine Wheel – Black Metallic
5 Sultans Of Ping F.C. – Where’s Me Jumper?
6 Bleach – Bethesda
7 Revolver – Crimson
8 The Wendys – Pulling My Fingers Off
9 The Stairs – Weed Bus (Flower Shop Demo)
10 Poppy Factory – 7 x 7
11 The Cranberries – Them
12 The Dylans – Godlike
13 Moose – Jack
14 Spirea X – Jet Pilot
15 Levitation – Nadine
16 Bang Bang Machine – Flower Horse
17 Sweet Jesus – Honey Loving Honey
18 Sun Dial – Fireball
19 Fabulous – There’s A Riot Going On
20 Drop – Drone 1 21 Blueboy – Clearer
21 The High – Up And Down
22 The Charlatans – Over Rising
23 Top – She’s Got All The World
24 Chapterhouse – Pearl
25 Saint Etienne – Nothing Can Stop Us
26 Flowered Up – I’ll Be Your Dog (Introducing Barry Mooncult)
27 World Of Twist – Sweets
28 Stan – My Delight
29 Paris Angels – Oh Yes
30 Lush – For Love
31 Scorpio Rising – Watermelon
32 Boo Radleys – The Finest Kiss
33 Slowdive – Morningrise
34 Spectrum – (I Love You) To The Moon & Back
35 Secret Shine – Grey Skies 16 Medalark Eleven – Snake
36 Smashing Orange – Not Very Much To See
37 The Forever People – Sometimes
38 Manic Street Preachers – Stay Beautiful
39 Northside – Take 5
40 Ever – Virginize
41 Ned’s Atomic Dustbin – Until You Find Out
42 Th’ Faith Healers – Gorgeous Blue Flower In My Garden
43 Spitfire – Dive
44 Honey Smugglers – Closer
45 Horse Latitudes – Northern Country Lie
46 See See Rider – Stolen Heart
47 Steamkings – In Your Room
48 Greenhouse – New World Order
49 Gentle Despite – Shadow Of A Girl
50 Moonflowers – Fire + 7 Others

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors