Pennyblackmusic Presents: Johny Brown (Band of Holy Joy) - With Hector Gannet and Andy Thompson @The Water Rats, London, Saturday 25, May, 2024

Headlining are Johny Brown (Band of Holy Joy) With support from Hector Gannet And Andy Thompson
Hosted at the Water Rats London , Saturday 25th May, 2024. Doors open 7:30pm. First band on at 8:00pm; Admission £15 on the door or £12 in advance from We got Tickets
Located at ....... Click here to view in Goggle Maps We look forward to seeing you on the night. For more information Click here

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Alicia Keys - Keys

  by Zena Grieg

published: 18 / 1 / 2022

Alicia Keys - Keys
Label: RCA
Format: CD X2


Versatile double album from Alicia Keys which is split into two parts, one consisting of new songs, and the other of reworkings of songs from her back catalogue

Following closely on the 20th anniversary reissue of her debut album ‘Songs In a Minor’, which originally sold 65 million records, winning five Grammys for its innovative blend of soul with classical piano, R&B and jazz, the American singer/songwriter and musician Alicia Keys has released a new double album, her eighth. ‘Keys’, comprising two parts, Originals and Unlocked, which is a 26-track collection of contrasts. The stripped-back 'Originals', which Keys has described as a return to her roots, is imprinted by vintage jazz and soul with soulful piano songs carried by her strong, mellifluous vocals. Highlights include: the opener ‘Plentiful’ with its novel transition from lush ballad to rugged hip-hop from Pusha T; the ballad ‘Skydive’, punctuated by piano and drum; the slow-burning, moody ‘Best Of Me’, with its syncopated drumbeat, reminiscent of Sade’s ‘Cherish The Day’; the six-minute torch-song reflection on unrequited love ‘Is It Insane?’; and the contemplative, timeless ‘Love When You Call My Name’ with its minimalist accompaniment and feel-good layered vocals on the chorus. 'Unlocked', co-produced by Keys with hip-hop producer Mike Will, features mostly upbeat reworkings of the songs, with collaborators and co-writers ranging from Swae Lee to Brandi Carlile. The tracks are propelled by a robust rhythmic backing, giving a contemporary feel. In this musical hue stand-outs are: ‘Skydive’, which becomes funky; ‘Best Of Me’ is transformed by electronic effects; ‘Is It Insane?’ becomes even more quietly frenetic; and the languorous melancholy of the collaboration with Khalid and Lucky Daye illuminating ‘Come For Me’. Re-imagining an album is a route which several artists including Taylor Swift, Dua Lipa and Paul McCartney have taken, but Keys has gone a step further in releasing simultaneous original versions and remixes, an experiment showcasing her versatility and impressive musical palette.

Track Listing:-
1 Plentiful
2 Skydive
3 Best Of Me
4 Dead End Road
5 Is It Insane
6 Billions
7 Love When You Call My Name
8 Only You
9 Daffodils
10 Old Memories
11 Nat King Cole
12 Paper Flowers
13 Like Water
15 Only You
16 Skydive
17 Best Of Me
19 Nat King Cole
20 Is It Insane
21 Come For Me
22 Old Memories
23 Dead End Road
24 Love When You Call My Name
25 Daffodils
26 Billions

Band Links:-

Label Links:-

Play in YouTube:-

Have a Listen:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors