# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Clap Your Hands Say Yeah - New Fragility

  by Maarten Schiethart

published: 9 / 6 / 2021

Clap Your Hands Say Yeah - New Fragility
Label: CYHSY
Format: CD


Pessimistic and misconstrued indie Americana blues from Philadelphian project Clap Your Hands Say Yeah

Testament to the terrible Trump Era, the 'collective state of unease and anxiety' is a hilarious claim in the press release which attempts to describe 'New Fragility' as if all of us would have felt the same way. No, no, no, we didn't. We pressed on. Sulking with self misery, 'New Fragility', however, serves as a moderate milestone from a recent past when moaning about Trump made sense. Yet released just after Biden announced a myriad of new deals, 'New Fragility' appears inappropriate to say the least. Over a span of nearly two decades Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, aka Alec Ounsworth, has championed mistiming whilst the Clinton and then the Obama Administrations kept spoiling his messages. His high-pitchedm nasal musings are extremely hard to decipher. One of the clearest audible sentences from one of his songs reads "When nothing comes from nothing." which set a tone for the record, but Ounsworth persues in his lazy Philadelphian languish as his outcries reach a toe-cringing level of Bono mumblings. The music far more adventurous than the lyrics and songs. If it were up to me Ounsworth should clap his hands and shut up.

Track Listing:-
1 Hesitating Nation
2 Thousand Oaks
3 Dee, Forgiven
4 New Fragility
5 Innocent Weight
6 Mirror Song
7 CYHSY, 2005
8 Where They Perform Miracles
9 Went Looking For Trouble
10 If I Were More Like Jesus

Band Links:-

Play in YouTube:-

Have a Listen:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

digital downloads



most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors