# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Islet - Eyelet

  by Dave Goodwin

published: 10 / 4 / 2020

Islet - Eyelet
Label: Fire Records
Format: CD


Hypnotic and exhilarating pop on long-awaited album from experimental and promising Welsh trio Islet

Hailing from Powys in Wales are a trio who specialise in experimental pop of the hypnotic, exhilarating and defiantly unique type. Formed in 2009, Islet return with the follow-up to 2016’s 'Liquid Half Moon EP' with the release of their long-awaited new album 'Eyelet'. It was recorded at the band members' home tucked away in the hills of rural mid-Wales following the birth of band members Emma and Mark Daman Thomas’ second child and the death of fellow group member Alex Williams’ mother. To get the album made Alex came to live with Emma and Mark, and the band enlisted Rob Jones of Pictish Trail fame to produce it for them. 'Caterpillar', which opens it, is described by Emma as “a song for my unborn child” and followed by the accented lullaby 'Good Grief', which with its evocative keyboard hook, tells of the quiet strength of generations of women. The album sails along quite nicely until you get to just before midway point and with nods towards Arthur Russell and Jenny Hval, coming in at almost seven minutes, my favourite on this offering, 'Geese' is a mini symphony of driven electronica with lashings of electronic drums. This track was inspired by Welsh cultural theorist Raymond Williams’ novel ‘People of the Black Mountains’. A bit later another highlight, 'Clouds' drifts in with ramblings of mixed up mid-tempo synth. If played in the right places this second coming of Islet should win them some decent exposure and some decent results.

Track Listing:-
1 Caterpillar
2 Good Grief
3 Treasure
4 Geese
5 Sgwylfa Rock
6 Radel 10

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors