# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Alice Tambourine Lover - Down Below

  by Dave Goodwin

published: 27 / 8 / 2019

Alice Tambourine Lover - Down Below
Label: P & C Goodwin Records
Format: CD


Excellent psychedelic blues on comeback sixth album from Bologna duo, Alice Tambourine Lover

Likened to the wonderful Mazzy Star and Cowboy Junkies, Alice Albertazzi and Gianfranco Romanelli, otherwise known as Alice Tambourine Lover, have released 'Down Below', their sixth album to date on Go Down Records. Alice (voice/ guitar/tambourine) and Gianfranco (dobro resonator guitars), who are based in Bologna, have got on to the heavier psychedelic side of the folk tree while still retaining their original identity. This album is also a little more bluesy too, compared to earlier outings. Wandering between lazy atmospheres and more gritty moments reminiscent of Mark Lanegan, this new album from Alice Tambourine Lover is certainly gripping. Getting together in 2011 as a side-project of psych band Alix, they released their first two albums 'Ground' and 'Good One' that year. Also released on Go Down is the rest of their discography, 'Naked Songs' from 2012, 'Star Rovers' from 2013 and 'Like a Rose' from 2015. They haven't done anything album-wise since then though and so 'Down Below' is seen as a sort of comeback album. The first track is the title track and is typical of their stripped-down sound but is an indicator of what is to come. A little heavier than the last is the next 'Dance Away' which is drenched in Alice's familiar tambourine percussive skills. All tracks are written by the duo except for 'Into the Maze', a guitar-led jaunt with haunting harmonies, and the last track on here 'Surround You' which was also written by Mirta Cimmino. In between is my personal highlight 'Rubber Land', which sports a more fuzzed-out sound and equally strong harmonies but also hides a great bit of harmonica within its bluesed out psychedelic trip. Am excellent sixth effort from Alice Tambourine Lover which should do well with both blues and psychedelic lovers alike.

Track Listing:-
1 Down Below
2 Dance Away
3 Blow Away
4 Follow
5 Into the Maze
6 Rubber Land
7 Train
8 Surround You

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors