# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Rivulets - In Our Circle

  by Keith How

published: 22 / 2 / 2019

Rivulets - In Our Circle
Label: Talitres
Format: CD


Understated Americana on fifth album from Rivulets, the moniker of Colorado-based singer-songwriter Nathan Amundson

'In Our Circle' is an album of haunting Americana steeped in the sense of everyday melancholia. Sparse guitars provide a sense of isolation and uncertainty throughout this eleven track offering headed up by songwriter Nathan Amundson. Most tracks clock in around a very economical three or four minutes and yet contain that magical sense of intoxication and intrigue. At its very core 'In Our Circle' strikes a balance between a bleak minimalism and a grunge-infused anger. Kicking off with the gentle 'Everything Goes' which is full of quiet introspection and atmosphere, you are drawn into a sense of space and emotion, before distorted guitars and heavy drums introduce 'Not Today', a basic two-chord shoegaze drone that feels like travelling an endless highway. 'Because I Don't Care' returns to a gently strummed guitar and Amundson‘s vocals are full of heartbreak as he sings about hurting people he cares for. At the mid-point of the album 'You Can Never Come Back' reminds me a little of Low, echoing a dark intensity infused with a hint of desperation in the guitar work and restrained vocal performance. '24' is a beautiful surprise as the album draws to a close. It is a lonely, atmospheric folk tune totally stripped back from drums and heavier guitar. One can imagine Amundson on his back porch surrounded by silence just bearing his soul. Lovers of Red House Painters, Sun Kil Moon and Low will find much to delight them here. Much of the beauty created on 'in Our Circle' is found in the calm minimal ambience, which is illuminated by flashes of intensity and insight. An album that has you reaching for the repeat button.

Track Listing:-
1 Everything Goes
2 Not Today
3 Because I Don't Care
4 Wire
5 You Can Never Come Back
6 Dark Days
7 Won't Be Long Now
8 I Was Lost Before I Met You
9 Sirens
10 24
11 Lucky

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

digital downloads

most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors