# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Squeeze - Cradle to the Grave

  by Anthony Strutt

published: 9 / 11 / 2015

Squeeze - Cradle to the Grave
Label: Virgin
Format: CD


Fantastic comeback album from Squeeze who return to the studio after an eighteen year break

Squeeze hail from the same neck of the woods as me of Blackheath in South- East London. They formed there in 1974, shortly after I started secondary school. Blackheath surrounds Deptford, which was were the band used to play a lot of their early gigs and which was home to their first label the Deptford Fun City in '77. It is also the place where writer, comedian and radio DJ Danny Baker grew up, upon whose autobiography - now also a TV series of the same name - this album was loosely based. Lyricist and guitarist Chris Difford and Danny Baker even went to the same school in Deptford and had the same teachers. The new album was recorded at vocalist and guitarist Glenn Tilbrook's home studio in Charlton where he now lives as he told me in an interview a few years back that he can't afford to live in Blackheath anymore. For the same amount he can have a bigger house in Charlton, which is just one village down the road. Glenn and Chris are the only original members of the band on the album, so it does have a different feel than their other music. It has also been written to reflect growing up in South-East London in the pre punk years of the early to mid 70's. 'Cradle to the Grave', the title track, to be honest, doesn't reflect the band at their best , and floats along with a skiffle-like feel. 'Nirvana' isn't a homage to the band of the same name, but is, however, full of sunny sunshine vibes. 'Beautiful Game' is a love song to football, a passion of Baker's and is a catchy, foot-tapping number. 'Happy Days' is about a journey to the seaside and its harmonies and lyrics are guaranteed to bring a smile to your face, while 'Open' is a classy pop number with a classic Squeeze arrangement. 'Only 15' reflects upon what we all go through at their difficult age, while 'Top of the Form' carries on with more tales from the school walls and playground when you really want to be elsewhere. 'Sunny' has the feel of 'Eleanor Rigby' about it, and, beautifully arranged and performed, shows that there was a reason why Difford and Tilbrook were called the Lennon/McCartney of the 80s. It is a song is about moving on, growing up, spending time on the heath and going to festivals and is arranged very elegantly. 'Haywire' returns to a country vibe, and is a song to sway to after a few drinks. 'Honeytrap' has a seaside swing, and is almost psychedelic in tone. 'Great Pub Rocking' is fast and furious and very slick. 'Everything' is a sad lament about how cruel life is, while closer 'Snap, Crackle, Pop' tells of experiencing the best and worse times of one's early youth. An enjoyable album.

Track Listing:-
1 Cradle To The Grave
2 Nirvana
3 Beautiful Game
4 Happy Days
5 Open
6 Only 15
7 Top Of The Form
8 Sunny
9 Haywire
10 Honeytrap
11 Everything
12 Snap, Crackle And Pop
13 Hangin' 'Round
14 Harper Valley PTA
15 This Strange Effect
16 I Don't Wanna Grow Up

Band Links:-

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors