# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Joe Brown - The Ukelele Album Deluxe Edition

  by Nick Dent-Robinson

published: 15 / 12 / 2013

Joe Brown - The Ukelele Album Deluxe Edition
Label: Absolute Marketing
Format: CD X2


Stylish and imaginative yet understated re-release of Joe Brown's 2012 album, which now comes with both extra studio tracks and also a bonus live CD

This is a very beautiful new stretched version of Joe Brown's earlier 'Ukulele Album' which appeared in 2012. But as you might expect from a guitarist of Joe Brown's calibre, there is far more here than ukuleles! The original record featured 15 tracks of uke-led roots and rock including such gems as Motorhead's 'The Ace of Spades' plus McGuinness-Flint's 'When I'm Dead and Gone' to the traditional 'When I'm Cleaning Windows'. Like everything on the album, these tracks are beautifully arranged and played with great virtuosity and verve by Joe along with his brilliant guitarist son Pete and his hugely talented daughter Sam who plays accordian as well as leading one of her own uke orchestras, The International Ukulele Club of Sonning Common, in support of her dad. These original tracks are now supplemented by four bonus songs - including the Beatles' beautifully frivolous 'Honey Pie' which features the inimitable Herbie Flowers (renowned for his ingenious bass introduction on Lou Reed's 'Walk on the Wild Side') playing the tuba – the instrument that was Herbie's first love, incidentally! Plus there's a bonus CD. This is a recording of a fourteen track live set from Joe Brown's Spring 2013 Tour – skilfully produced as usual by Pete Brown. It has a rare charm and a rootsy feel which really conveys the impression of the warmth and fun (and the stunning but understated musical virtuosity) of any live Joe Brown concert. There's the innocence of 'Big Rock Candy Mountain', a uniquely beautiful version of U2's 'I Still Haven't Found What I am Looking For' as well as a uke-tinged but powerful 'Pinball Wizard', the Italian 'Souvenir d'Alvilo' plus a nicely laid-back version of Eric Clapton's 'Lay Down Sally'. In addition there's an attractively fresh re-run of Joe's 50-year- old hit, 'I'm Henry VI11, I Am'. Whenever I hear Joe play this number I recall him talking of his irritation that it was Herman's Hermits who had success with this song in the USA - This was something that happened twice to Joe with the same band, as Joe had also turned down a song written specially for him on the birth of his daughter Sam - 'Mrs Brown, You've Got a Lovely Daughter' - thinking it a bit “naff”, only for Herman's Hermits to have a huge US hit with it! Mandolins, acoustic and electric guitars, accordion and more add to the surprisingly powerful sound of ukuleles and the percussive and bass support is superb. In fact the musicianship, arrangements and production are stunning throughout this whole stylish, imaginative yet understated musical package. And it is quite exceptional value for money.

Track Listing:-
1 When I'm Dead and Gone
2 Mr Blue Sky
3 Tickle My Heart
4 I'm Not In Love
5 I'll See You In My Dreams
6 Hula Girl
7 You've Got Your Troubles
8 Pinball Wizard
9 When I'm Cleaning Windows
10 I Like Ukuleles
11 The Ace of Spades
12 There's No Pleasing You
13 Where Were You Last Night
14 I Like You
15 I Like Bananas
16 Honey Pie
17 Price Tag
18 Grandad Style
19 Bad Guys
20 Big Rock Candy Mountain (Live)
21 Lay Down Sally (Live)
22 That’s What Love Will Do (Live)
23 Henry V111 (Live)
24 Picture of You (Live)
25 I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Lookin
26 Ace of Spades (Live)
27 Pinball Wizard (Live)
28 Any Road (Live)
29 Killing the Blues (Live)
30 Souvenir D’alvito (Live)
31 Sea of Heartbreak (Live)
32 Hava Nagila (Live)
33 Ain’t Too Old (Live)

Band Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit


Interview (2009)
Joe Brown - Interview
Lisa Torem speaks to Matthew Ord, the guitarist with Hey Negrita, about his debut album of traditional folk music, 'Early in the Spring', and its strong Celtic influences


Profile (2019)
Joe Brown - Profile
Nick Dent-Robinson reflects on the enduring sixty year career of rock legend Joe Brown, who is currently touring the UK.

live reviews

The Anvil, Basingstoke, 24/3/2013
Joe Brown - The Anvil,  Basingstoke,  24/3/2013
Nick Dent-Robinson watches sometimes under-appreciated 60's icon Joe Brown play a stunning set combining both his own and other classic rock songs at the Anvil in Basingstoke

most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

related articles

Sam Brown : Interview (2014
...while in the second part she chats about her other solo albums and relationship with her father, 60's musician Joe Brown

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors