Pennyblackmusic Presents: Heist & Idiot Son + The Volunteered & Simon Bromide

Headlining are Heist with support from Idiot Son , The Volunteered and Simon Bromide
Hosted at the Water Rats London, Saturday 10th September. Doors open 7:30; First band on at 7:45; Admission £10 on the door or £8 in advance from We got Tickets
Located at ....... Click here to view in Goggle Maps We look forward to seeing you on the night. For more information Click here

# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Justin Currie - Lower Reaches

  by Tony Gaughan

published: 17 / 9 / 2013

Justin Currie - Lower Reaches
Label: Ignition Records
Format: CD


Fantastic third solo album which was recorded in Texas from Del Amitri front man, Justin Currie

This is Justin Currie's third solo album after six Del Amitri records. 'Lower Reaches' is short in length, but there is no doubting his talent despite its downbeat title. It begins with a funeral in opener 'Falsetto' and ends with a wedding with closer 'Little Stars'. 'Lower Reaches' was written over a short break in Skye, and Celtic spirit shines through in 'Priscilla', a pleasant ballad with a beatbox carrying it. There are a couple of typically Del Amitri sounding tracks particularly in 'I Hate Myself for Loving You' and 'Every Day's the Same', but there are many surprises on here. 'On My Conscience' has a country shuffle, and there is no doubt that recording this in Texas with producer Mike McCarthy influenced it, but the bitter and twisted lyric leaves nothing to the imagination and whomever this was written about will certainly not need any prompting. There is a real shift in the unmistakable vocal from Justin on another piano ballad 'Into a Pearl', and the closer 'Little Stars' with its incredible vocal has you yearning for more. Currie reckons this album is a personal best, and I would have to agree. This is an album which I will be listening to frequently. Every song is a winner .

Track Listing:-
1 Falsetto
2 Every Song's The Same
3 Bend To My Will
4 Priscilla
5 I Hate Myself For Loving You
6 On A Roll
7 Into A Pearl
8 On My Conscience
9 Half Of Me
10 Little Stars

Band Links:-

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

digital downloads


most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors