# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Greie Gut Fraktion - Baustelle/reKonstruktion

  by Maarten Schiethart

published: 17 / 2 / 2012

Greie Gut Fraktion  - Baustelle/reKonstruktion
Label: Monika Enterprise
Format: CD


Excellent debut album from Berlin new wave electronica duo Greie Gut Fraktion, which examines the architectural construction and transformation that is currently taking place in their native city and which has also had released to coincide with it an album of remixes.

Gudrun Gut was a long time favourite with John Peel. While he's gone, she's not. A founding member of the brilliant, militant and all female Berliner sextet Malaria, when the city literally stood at the edge of the Western world, she made the not uncommon move from new wave/Neue Welle to electronic dance music. For this project Gudrun Gut teams up with Little Ann Grey-Fox, Antye Greie-Fuchs / AGF. The 'Baustelle' boils down to to the construction frenzy that Berlin is going through. 'Construction Site' is the theme of this album; of casting concrete; about project developers - whose motto is "we're building a new city" – and last but not least, of course, the felling of trees. Much in the vein of the notoriously influential Basic Channel style, 'Baustelle' catches that driving beat used in urban dubby rhythms, and has aural experiments aplenty thrown in. In whispery voices, the way of the construction sites unfolds, as if fairy tales are being told of how advancements there are made. 'Make It Work' is a track that delves deeply into this. The beat is almost tribal, like the sounds of deep foundation being merged with the dance music landscape of today. Slightly dated in style, this crispy new wave electronica album stands testament to the 'Verwandlung' - the transformation of Berlin. Inevitably, tracks off the original album are entirely remixed now as well and offer some 'home' improvements. Alvo Noto does a complete remake remodel of 'Wir Bauen Eine Neue Stadt', Greie and Gut themselves do some home improvements of their selves and contributions come from amongst others Barbara Morgenstern, Wolfgang Voigt, Vladislav Delay & Antye Greie and Shackleton.

Track Listing:-
1 Drilliing An Ocean (AGF- Drillling Frrrmm Remix)
2 Betongiessen (Gudrun Gut -Rubberboots Mix)
3 Wir Bauen Eine Neue Stadt (Wolfgang Voigt Freiland Klaviermix 1)
4 Drilling An Ocean (Mika Vainio Mix)
5 We Matter (Natalie Beridze Mix)
6 Make It Work (Jennifer Cardini Mix)
7 Mischmaschine (Soulphiction - Late Dub)
8 Cutting Trees (Barbara Morgenstern Mix)
9 Make It Work (Gudrun Gut - Get It Down Mix)
10 Baustein (Donna Neda - He's A Man Mix)
11 Make It Work (AGF Interlude)
12 Wir Bauen Eine Neue Stadt (Alva Noto - Remodel Edit)
13 Cutting Trees (AGF- Space Place Mix)
14 White Oak (Chra - Sombrero Albo Mix)
15 China Memories (Vinilette - Ambient Remix)

Band Links:-

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

digital downloads


most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors