# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Rory Gallagher - Notes from San Francisco

  by Spencer Robertshaw

published: 11 / 6 / 2011

Rory Gallagher - Notes from San Francisco
Label: Capo
Format: CD X2


Unreleased until now studio and live recordings from the late Rory Gallagher, which proves to be probably the best hidden secret in guitar led rock for decades

It was a massive loss to the music world when Rory Gallagher (2nd March 1948 – 14 June 1995), died from complications after a liver transplant in 1995 at age of 47. He influenced so many of our top guitarists that there are monuments to him all over the world. This double album, originally recorded in 1977 and 1979 respectively, consists of entirely previously unreleased material and is a must for Gallagher and rock fans. The first CD consists of a 1977 studio album, which, recorded in a San Francisco studio, was shelved in 1978 and lead to the dissolving of Gallagher's band. Gallagher was not happy with the mix thinking it too complicated (An interesting side note is that the producer was Elliot Mazer who pushed the faders on Neil Young's 'Harvest'). Throughout his career he had self doubt regarding his performance and an obsession to detail, as have done many of the great creatives in history. The second CD is taken from live performances at the Old Waldorf, San Francisco 1979 and combines a four night show into one CD. Gallagher went through a a massive enlightenment after seeing the Sex Pistols at The Winterland Ballroom in 1978. It made him wish to return to his roots and to display the same raw energy that the Sex Pistols had shown him. 2011 arrives and the album is finally released having been remixed by Gallagher's own bloodline and his nephew Daniel Gallagher. The live recording was added to the release to give an idea of what Rory was trying to achieve at this important time in his career. The studio CD has Gallagher playing guitar like only he could. The guitar players that I can hear hidden deep in his fretwork include Gary Moore, Jimmy Page, Jimi Hendrix, Mark Knopfler, Eric Clapton and Jeff Beck. No wonder Hendrix called him the best guitarist in the world. This release finds Gallagher firing on all the cylinders he can get his hands on. It has fantastic fretwork and his fingers fly up and down his guitar neck from one end to the other with a sense of timing that you would relate to a classical pianist. The vocals are rock and roll, nicely hoarse with a good top end. The live album is similarly packed with energy and great guitar solos. His fingers on this sound as if each single one had a 'hand' of its own as they hammer and run through the scales with great personality. If you like this genre of music you are in for a massive treat. This is probably the best hidden secret in guitar led rock for decades. Enjoy!

Track Listing:-
1 Rue The Day
2 Persuasion
3 B Girl
4 Mississippi Sheiks
5 Wheels Within Wheels
6 Overnight Bag
7 Cruise On Out
8 Brute Force & Ignorance
9 Fuel To The Fire
10 Follow Me
11 Shinkicker
12 Off The Handle
13 Bought And Sold
14 I'm Leavin'
15 Tattoo'd Lady
16 Do Your Read Me
17 Country Mile
18 Calling Card
19 Shadow Play
20 Bullfrog Blues
21 Sea Cruise

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

digital downloads

most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors