# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Robyn Hitchcock and The Venus 3 - Propellor Time

  by Anthony Strutt

published: 26 / 3 / 2010

Robyn Hitchcock and The Venus 3 - Propellor Time
Label: Sartorial Records
Format: CD


Excellent third album of John Lennon-influenced rock on third album from Robyn Hitchcock and The Venus 3, which conists of three of the members of R.E.M.

‘Propellor Time’ is Robyn Hitchcock's third release with the Venus 3 which consists of Peter Buck, Bill Rieflin, and Scott McCaughey from R.E.M. In addition this album also features Robyn's friend and fellow musician, Led Zeppelin's John Paul Jones, who appearing on mandolin on this album has played with Robyn almost as much as R.E.M. in recent years. ‘Propellor Time’ also features another legend, the Cribs and Smiths guitarist, Johnny Marr, who has co-written and appears on one of its tracks, ‘Ordinary Time’. It kicks off with ‘Star of Venus’, which is acoustic lead and has a raw vocal from Robyn that sounds like a solo Lennon. It is a song delivered with maturity , while the backing harmonies by the Venus 3 make them all sound like angels. Sadly they don't make songs like this anymore. God bless Sir Robyn and all that sail with him. ‘The Afterlight’ shows off Robyn’s wacky side. After all he is the Monty Python of the musical community. Delivered with a flowing banjo in the style of R.E.M.’s ‘Losing My Religion’, it is an ultimately heartwarming number. ‘Luckiness’ again features a banjo and, having a slow country soun, once more sounds like solo Lennon. It was recorded live in front of a selective few by the sounds of things. ‘Ordinary Millionaire’, the Marr track, is very charming and has a psychedelic Beatles sound. It is a song to lose yourself in at the end of a long day. ‘John in the Air’ is another wacky oddball number slowly delivered in a masterful way. If Robyn told you that green men were living with us, you would believe him. It is totally convincing. The title track is another Lennon-style song that drags you in. ‘Primitive’ has masterful guitar playing, while sweet harmonies hold it together in an organised way. ‘Sickie Boy’ is upbeat with a R.E.M. jangle, full of sunshine, lovely and very warm. ‘Born on the Wind,’ is influenced by Bob Dylan, whom Robyn is a massive fan of. ‘Evolove’ ends the album and is an elegant, summery-sounding Beatles number. ‘Propellor Time ’is a great album from Robyn Hitchcock and those guys from that band from Athens, Georgia.

Track Listing:-
1 Star Of Venus
2 The Afterlight
3 Luckiness
4 Ordinary Millionaire
5 John In The Air
6 Propellor Time
7 Primitive
8 Sickie Boy
9 Born On The Wind
10 Evolove

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

digital downloads

most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors