# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Dub Pistols - Rum and Coke

  by Anthony Strutt

published: 30 / 7 / 2009

Dub Pistols - Rum and Coke
Label: Sunday Best Recordings
Format: CD


Diverse dub/reggae on excellent fourth album from London-based collective, Dub Pistols

Dub Pistols were recently the support act to the Specials on their reunion tour. Their fourth album, 'Rum and Coke', is predominantly a collection of duets, sometimes featuring the London-based collective's main singer TK Lawrence, but on other occasions other co-vocalists. 'Rum and Coke' opens with 'Back to Daylight' with Ashley Slater. This has a great heavy dub rhythm to it, while Ashley's vocal is very commercial and radio friendly, an instant club classic. 'I'm in Love' is with Lindy Layton and Rodney P. Lindy was last seen on top of the charts with the track 'Dub Be Good to Me' by Beats International, which featured Fat Boy Slim, in 1990. This has summer written all over it and will be an instant festival hit. With a heavy dub feel to it, it has hints of both the golden age of 2 Tone and the flavour of the Notting Hill Carnival. 'Everyday Stranger' is a dramatic rap between TK and Ashley Slater. 'Revitalise' features TK, and is two tone flavoured with added brass. 'Ganja' with Rodney P is very drug infused and starts off with a phone call about a drug overdose. It is a song to nod your head too, even if you are absolutely stoned. 'She Moves', which features TK, has a party feel to it. 'Peace of Mind'. with Red Star Loin and Rodney P, has a dubby 2 Tone flavour, and, sung as a duet, has great rhythm. 'Keep the Fires Burning' sounds like the Beat doing Two Tone and has a vocal from Justin Robertson that is both London-flavoured and catchy. 'Six Months, with reggae legend Gregory Issacs and Rodney P, sounds more dubby. It is a soft reggae number sung as a duet and has a very pleasant groove man. 'Song for Summer' ends the album and features Ashley Slater. It has a slow jazzy cluby feel, and, as soft and smooth as a coffee advert, closes an excellent and diverse album.

Track Listing:-
1 Back to Daylight
2 I'm in Love
3 Everyday Stranger
4 Revitalise
5 Ganja
6 She Moves
7 Peace of Mind
8 Keep the Fire Burning
9 Six Months
10 Song for Summer
11 Ganja (Dub)

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors