# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Various - It's a Misery Business

  by Peter Allison

published: 28 / 2 / 2009

Various - It's a Misery Business
Label: Rhino
Format: CD


Enjoyable compilation album. featuring metal/punk acts such as Nickleback, Biffy Clyro and Gallows, which explores the darker side of romance

Describing a compilation album is always a difficult task, for they commonly fall into two categories: either providing the listener with a selection of different bands, or having a core theme which different bands provide music for. 'It’s A Misery Business' is of the latter category, and is an ambitious effort, especially as the theme – Valentine's Day and romance - is not a token effort, and the focus makes for some compelling listening. The opening track, Nickleback’s 'Something In Your Mouth', proves that this is not your typical romantic candlelit album. It is instead from the alternative persuasion, and is all the better for it. It focuses on the negative aspects of romance, and the different bands who explore this subject provide some great tracks. Other stand-out tracks include 'Lips Like Morphine' from Kill Hannah and Biffy Clyro's anthemic 'Mountains'. 'Orchestra of Wolves' is, however, a more unfortunate offering from Gallows. Overall, however, this is a great CD, offering a romantic album, with an alternative twist. I would not hesitate in recommending it to others who would like to explore the latest in the alternative music scene while exploring the darker side to romance.

Track Listing:-
1 Nickelback- Something In Your Mouth
2 Paramore- Misery Business
3 Slipknot- Dead Memories
4 Atreyu- Doomsday
5 Gallows- Orchestra Of Wolves
6 Kill Hannah- Lips Like Morphine
7 Elliot Minor- Jessica
8 Panic At The Disco- I Write Sins Not Tragedies
9 Cobra Starship- Guilty Pleasure
10 Simple Plan- Your Love Is A Lie
11 Madina Lake- Pandora
12 Kids In Glass Houses- Girls
13 Fighting With Wire- Everyone Needs A Nemesis
14 Biffy Clyro- Mountains
15 Billy Talent- Try Honesty
16 A- Better Off With Him
17 Jacks Mannequin- The Mixed Tape
18 Cute Is What We Aim For- Loser
19 Amanda Palmer- Leeds United

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors