# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Kylie - X

  by Anthony Strutt

published: 25 / 11 / 2007

Kylie - X
Label: Parlophone
Format: CD


First album in four years from Kylie, which while having few surprises, nevertheless has a classic pop sound

'X' is Kylie's first album since 2003's 'Body Language', which didn't blow everyone away as much as her phenomenally successful 2003 album, 'Fever', did. 'X' takes it name because her fans called it that, so Kylie decided to go with that. It is classic Minogue without too many suprises in store, but is generally a good album for the Christmas market. It opens with the waltz flavoured '2 Hearts', the first single, which has a hand clapping beat and an equally strong emphasis on bass. Kylie's vocal verges on the sleazy and it is not as upbeat or dancey as we know her for. 'Like a Drug' is synth-based pop, reminiscent in a 1980's way of both the Pet Shop Boys and Visage. 'In My Arms' is a sing-a-long pop number, while 'Speakerphone' has a distorted vocal and, commercial-sounding, will appeal to Kylie's gay fanbase. 'Sensitized' is lush and full of big pop moments, while 'Heart Beat Rock' has a Friday night, break beat party sound. 'The One' is another happy end-of-the week number with a big pop sound. 'No More Rain' is sweet and quite twee and innocent-sounding. 'All I See' is an r 'n' b /soul pop number that recalls the Sugababes. 'Stars' meanwhile is a big dance filled pop number with a big production, while 'Wow' recollects Madonna's 'Holiday' and is an easy-on-the-ear party track. 'NU-DI-TY' is more r 'n' b flavoured and has a shake-your-booty groove, while 'Cosmic' which ends the album, sounds like a last track and is quite homely in a Christmas way. Welcome back, Kylie !

Track Listing:-
1 2 Hearts
2 Like a Drug
3 In My Arms
4 Speakerphone
5 Sensitized
6 Heart Beat Rock
7 The One
8 No More Rain
9 All I See
10 Stars
11 Wow
12 Nu-di-ty
13 Cosmic
14 Heart Beat Rock (feat. MC Spank Rock) [Benny Blanco Remix]

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors