# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

DOA - Punk Rock Singles 1978-1999

  by Alex Halls

published: 9 / 10 / 2007

DOA - Punk Rock Singles 1978-1999
Label: Captain Oi !
Format: CD


Unpretentious and honest old school punk on 25 track compilation from durable Canadian band D.O.A.

What can one say about such a significant span of life? The ability to keep going, to keep progressing isn’t for everyone, especially when line-ups are prone to change. Lead vocalist, Joey Keithley, is the only founding member to have stayed with the band throughout its entire history. Although original bassist, Randy Rampage, features in the current line-up, his long-absence at one point excludes him from a similar honour. Hailing from Vancouver, D.O.A. officially formed in 1978 and have been credited with being one of the catalysts of hardcore punk. D.O.A. don’t fit within this genre as the music is similar, although still radically different, to that of the buoyant Ramones, mainly when you factor in the gruffer vocals. It’s in laidback songs like 'Whatcha Gonna Do ?' that it’s hard to picture how anyone made the leap from D.O.A. to hardcore. Yet, thinking back all those years to chemistry class, even the most seemingly inert of catalysts held the key to a power punch so forceful, its inclusion in the curriculum made school teachers cringe and was the kids delight. With 22 albums under their belt, D.O.A. aren’t short of material, and this compilation indicates just that. The musical variance is quickly established as pace and style change with ease, marking the band’s development over time. But it’s not solely in the music that D.O.A. make their mark. With outspoken political opinions some of which are contained within the 25 tracks on show, there’s quite frankly too much for this writer to cover, even for the listener to absorb. With the choice, it’s much better that way. Beginning with a jazzy number 'Disco Sucks', the record is surprisingly easy on the ear. The excellent 'General Strike', which has particular resonance given the recent postal shut-down, goes some way towards raising hell. Often dealing with world issues, such as racism, globalisation and the environment, D.O.A. have 'Freedom of Speech' as one of their popular topics. No prizes for guessing why: 'The Punk Rock Singles' collection demonstrates the band’s anarchist populist political stance. Not only that, the vocals demonstrate an enjoyment in producing the music, which tends to come from a full investment into the music and aim. 'The Punk Rock Singles' collection veers away from D.O.A.’s own creations, to firstly include a cover version of 'That’s Life', giving the listener a rather good, dirty version of this timeless classic. Shortly after, Johnny Cash’s legendary 'Folsom Prison Blues' makes an appearance, followed by Tom Jones’ 'It’s Not Unusual'. Whilst covers are often an easy way out on singles, it’s great to hear them being done by punk bands, as the variations from the original are particularly intriguing. 29 years on from inception, it’s a fair reflection of the band’s abilities that we are now provided with. Even if this isn’t your style, there’s much satisfaction to be had in listening to and accepting this record. It’s not perfect, but never attempts to be: pretentiousness has been left at the door, It’s good old honesty that here prevails: welcome to D.O.A.’s 'Punk Rock Singles' collection, you’re sure to have a blast.

Track Listing:-
1 Disco Sucks
2 Nazi Training Camp
3 Royal Police
4 Woke Up Screaming
5 The Prisoner
6 13
7 World War 3
8 Whatch Gonna Do?
9 Fucked Up Ronnie
10 The Enemy
11 My Old Man's A Bum
12 New Wave Sucks
13 Fuck You
14 Burn It Down
15 General Strike
16 That's Life
17 Billy And The Socreds
18 The Only Thing Green
19 Folsom Prison Blues
20 It's Not Unusual
21 Dead Men Tell No Tales
22 Marijuana Motherfucker
23 Beat 'Em, Bust 'Em
24 World Falls Apart
25 Used To Be Revolution
26 Nervous Breakdown

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors