# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Crowded House - Time on Earth

  by Anthony Strutt

published: 25 / 7 / 2007

Crowded House - Time on Earth
Label: Parlophone
Format: CD


Fine comeback album from New Zealand group Crowded House which finds them working with Johnny Marr and is their first since they split up over a decade ago

After releasing ‘Farewell to the World’, last year’s live tenth anniversary double CD of their last ever gig, Crowded House have now reformed. They have spent no time wasting around and have gone back into the studio with Johnny Marr of the Smiths and recorded this bunch of songs. ‘Nobody Wants To’ is crystal clear, mellow and lovely with perfect harmonies, a chill out number that features classy song writing and which is reminiscent of Aztec Camera. ‘Don’t Stop Now’ features an appearance from Johnny Marr on guitar, and, the first single, is a happy tune that brings back memories of Prefab Sprout. “The Called Up’ is a commercial pop number in a similar vein to Squeeze or Paul McCartney, while the slower-paced ‘Say That Again’ features jangling guitars and recalls the Chameleons. ‘Pour Le Monde’ is reminiscent of the Beatles’ ‘Let it Be’. Neil's vocal has a religious element and the song is full of hope. ‘Even Child’is a co write with Johnny Marr and has a big summery sound, while ‘Heaven that I'm Making’ is more melody based and has deep grooves and elegant keyboards. ‘A Sigh’ is a slow, moody number, while ‘Silent House’, a co-write with the Dixie Chicks, has a soft rock sound and features some fuzzy guitars. ‘English Trees’ is pleasantly delivered in a style McCartney would be proud of, while ‘Walked Her Down’’ is slow and moody with deep grooves and has a funky element. ‘Transit Lounge,’ starts off with a loop and, a tale about travelling and life on the road, is again very melodic, while ‘You are the One to Make Me Cry’ is as lovely as a classic Prefab Sprout number. ‘People Are Like Suns’ closes this comeback CD and is as powerful as an early solo Lennon song, moody and beautiful with elegant piano and soft guitar and drums. Welcome back, guys !

Track Listing:-
1 Nobody Wants To
2 Don't Stop Now
3 She Called Up
4 Say That Again
5 Pour le Monde
6 Even a Child
7 Heaven That I'm Making
8 A Sigh
9 Silent House
10 English Trees
11 Walked Her Way Down
12 Transit Lounge
13 You Are the One to Make Me Cry
14 People Are Like Suns
15 She Called Up (Home Demo)
16 A Sigh (Home Demo)
17 Here's a Note (Studio Demo)
18 Purple Light (Studio Demo)
19 So Dramatic
20 Stare Me Out (Alternative Version)
21 Distance Across (Studio Demo)
22 Lost Island
23 Stare Me Out
24 Bound to Rescue (Home Demo)
25 Don't Stop Now (Home Demo)
26 Won't Be Silent (Home Demo)
27 People Are Like Suns (Piano Version)

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors