# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Relient K - Score and Seven Years Ago

  by Anthony Strutt

published: 9 / 5 / 2007

Relient K - Score and Seven Years Ago
Label: Parlophone
Format: CD


Eclectic, but staid and forumulaic pop on seventh album from the bestselling Relient K

'Score and Seven Years Ago’ is Relient K's fifth album in seven years, and follows on from three gold albums. The five piece Ohio-based band recorded ‘Score and Seven Years Ago’ in L.A., which begins in perfect Beach Boys fashion with ‘Pleading the Fifth’. ‘Come Right Out and Say It’ starts off sounding like early Prefab Sprout, before getting edgier and rockier. ‘Need You’ is fast-paced and in the style of Feeder or the Foo Fighters, while ‘The Best Thing’ is more poppy and has big guitars and big choruses. ‘Forgiven’ is another big tune, with sing-a-long power chords, while ‘Must Have Done Something Right’ is much softer with fluffy pop overtones and further hints of the Beach Boys. ‘Give Until There’s Nothing Left’ is soft-sounding rock, while ‘Devastation and Reform’ tries too hard to sound hard and fails miserably. Power pop punk number,’I’m Taking You With Me’, is slightly more believable, while ‘Faking My Own Suicide’ is country inspired with big hints of 70’s acoustic rock. ‘Crayons Can Melt On Us for All I Care’ is a moody piano based short instrumental number, while ‘Bite My Tongue’ is a hardcore track that maintains a pop friendly element. ‘Up and Up’ recalls a mellow Feeder, while ‘Deathbed’ begins as a soft piano based ballad before developing into a 1970’s influenced power pop number. It lasts over 10 minutes and shows that the band has a bit more depth to them than that which they have exhibited on the rest of the album.

Track Listing:-
1 Pleading the Fifth (A Cappella)
2 Come Right out and Say It
3 I Need You
4 The Best Thing
5 Forgiven
6 Must Have Done Something Right
7 Give Until There's Nothing Left
8 Devastation and Reform
9 I'm Taking You with Me
10 Faking My Own Suicide
11 Crayons Can Melt on Us for All I Care
12 Bite My Tongue
13 Up and Up
14 Deathbed

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors