# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

DOA - Bloodied But Unbowed (The Damage To Date: 1978-83)

  by Daniel Cressey

published: 10 / 12 / 2006

DOA - Bloodied But Unbowed (The Damage To Date: 1978-83)
Label: Sudden Death Records
Format: CD


Enjoyable retrospective from US punk stalwarts DOA which compiles nineteen tracks from their first five years in the late 70's/early 80's, but whose need seems frankly dubious

Punk stalwarts DOA. have won a place in the history of US punk. And won it by the old fashioned method of pounding on history’s door until their knuckles were bloodied and history was hiding in the closet hoping they would just go away. ‘Bloodied but Un-bowed’ picks nineteen tracks from the albums, singles and EPs that marked their first five years, starting way back in 1978. They still make compelling listening, squaring up to political, social and any other issue that happened to pass by whatever step it was the band were drinking on that morning. But given that many of the best songs from this collection have already appeared on the recent ‘War and Peace’ best of, it would seem fair to question the need for this collection. (That collection featured fourteen songs from the releases that ‘Bloodied but Un-bowed’ takes nineteen from.) Although this new album is a commendably vicious, aural assault the actual need for it is frankly dubious. There is a solid argument for a DOA album in any record collection with even a passing acquaintance with punk. Whether this particular one merits a place is less clear cut.

Track Listing:-
1 New Age
2 The Prisoner
3 Unknown
4 Smash The State
5 Rich Bitch
6 Slumlord
7 Fuck You
8 I Don't Give A Shit
9 Waiting For You
10 Watcha Gonna Do?
11 World War 3
12 2+2
13 The Enemy
14 Fucked Up Ronnie
15 Woke Up Screaming
16 001 Loser's Club
17 13
18 Get Out Of My Life
19 D.O.A.

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors