# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Panic Channel - (One)

  by Anthony Strutt

published: 29 / 11 / 2006

Panic Channel - (One)
Label: Parlophone
Format: CD


Full-on heavy metal on debut album from the Panic Channel, which features Dave Navarro, Stephen Perkins and Chris Chaney from Jane's Addiction, and Steve Isaacs who has fronted Skycycle, his own band

The Panic Channel are Dave Navarro on guitars, Stephen Perkins on drums, Chris Chaney on bass, all of whom are former members of Jane's Addiction, and Steve Issacs on guitars and vocals. Steve is the new boy in the pack but had his own band Skycycle and is in favour with The Who's Pete Townshend as he won the lead role in the stage version of 'Tommy'. Dave has also worked with the Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Perkins with the post Jane's Addiction band Porno for Pyros, while Chaney has played with Alanis Morissette. The album opens with 'Teahouse of the Spirits', which is full-on metal and has a Foo Fighters rhythm but with tighter drums and guitars, and a touch of Feeder's Grant Nicholas in Steve's vocals and harmonies. 'Left to Lose' is decent mad-axe metal. 'Bloody Mary' is reminiscent of Green Day. It shows initially they can do big acoustic numbers with balls, before they go again into Foo Fighters overdrive. 'Why Cry ?'is melodic sing-a-long power pop, while 'Awake' is Feeder style full-on metal. It has initially some pop overtones before getting more punky and dark latterly with fast, heavy basslines and new wave style drums. On 'She Won't Last' sounds like a hard-edged Who. 'Said You'd Be' is catchy metal, fast and racy, with strong harmonies and some great showmanship guitar playing. 'Outsider' is more melodic and calm, not heavy at all, while 'Blue Bruises' is a well- paced rocker. 'Night One from Planchette' has strange, cinematic overtones at the beginning, but becomes harder towards the end. 'Listen is Loud' is more melodic and has a firm groove on top of it, while 'Lie Next to Me' is soft and has perfect harmonics. The final number is a uncredited track and again has cinematic qualities.

Track Listing:-
1 Teahouse Of The Spirits
2 Left To Lose
3 Bloody Mary
4 Why Cry
5 Awake
6 She Won't Last
7 Said You'd Be
8 Outsider
9 Blue Bruises
10 Night One (From Planchette)
11 Listen
12 Lie Next To Me
13 13
14 Loop Hole

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors