# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Charlotte Gainsbourg - 5 : 55

  by Sarah Rowland

published: 21 / 8 / 2006

Charlotte Gainsbourg - 5 : 55
Label: Select Label
Format: CD


Distinctive debut album from stand out French actress Charlotte Gainsbourg, the daughter of the infamous singer/songwriter Serge Gainsbourg and acrtess and singer Jane Birkin

Charlotte Gainsbourg has already built up an impressive portfolio of films as a stand out actress in French cinema and, although she released an album written by her father, the infamous French singer/songwriter Serge Gainsbourg, when she was only 13 years-old, a career in music has only ever been hinted at during her catalogue of around 30 films. She has lent her voice to several projects including film scores, a spoken introduction on Madonna’s song ‘What it Feels Like For a Girl’ and doing backing vocals for Badly Drawn Boy. But her album '5.55' has a very personalised feel that gives an insight in to Gainsbourg’s inherited talents as a singer. Although her whispery vocals are not a million miles away from her father’s music she has a definite individuality and, accompanied by beautiful piano notes, her voice sounds absolutely angelic. Recorded in Paris but sung in perfect English echoing her British mother, actress Jane Berkin, her songs are like fluffy white clouds floating through a perfect blue sky. ‘Little Monsters’ and ‘Everything I cannot See’ are stand out tracks, the latter with an impressive piano flourish and energetic vocals. The album is well worth a look and is the start of a music career in her own right. Although Gainsbourg will always find herself standing partially in her fathers shadow she has found her own distinctive sound that will place her on the musical map.

Track Listing:-
1 5:55
2 AF607105
3 The Operation
4 Tel Que Tu Es
5 The Songs That We Sing
6 Beauty Mark
7 Little Monsters
8 Jamais
9 Night-Time Intermission
10 Everything I Cannot See
11 Morning Song
12 Set Yourself On Fire (Bonus)
13 5:55 (The Black Ghosts Remix)
14 5:55 (Metronomy Remix)

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors