# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Dawn Of The Replicants - Bust The Trunk - The Singles

  by Jamie Rowland

published: 21 / 8 / 2006

Dawn Of The Replicants - Bust The Trunk - The Singles
Label: Select Label
Format: CD


Brilliant singles retrospective from equal parts Magoo, Half Man Half Biscuit and Roxy Music-inspired quirky, psychedelic pop rockers Dawn of the Replicants, released by SL Records to celebrate their 10 years together

Dawn of the Replicants are at the top of their game; that game being the production of brilliantly entertaining quirky, psychedelic pop. John Peel loved them, Radcliff and Lard loved them, heck, even the NME loved them! In fact, they still do, as do we all. This year they have been together for 10 years, 5 LPs and 22 singles. To celebrate, all 22 of those singles have been released together by SL records on this brilliant new compilation. And it’s because we love them still that we’re all going to go out and buy it. If you need more of a hard sell than that, then allow me to elaborate. This brilliant collection spans the entire Dawn of the Replicants' history, including early singles ‘Cocaine on the Catwalk’, ‘Lisa Box’ and ‘Candelfire’, which received daytime play on Radio 1 when it was released back in 1998. ‘Mary Louise’ makes a lovely interlude from all the wonky pop seven tracks in; it’s a gentle little almost-ballad that mixes in some lovely Beach Boys style harmonies towards the end. Other excellent tracks included are Festive Fifty climber ‘Science Fiction Freak’, the brilliantly titled ‘Everyone in Heaven is Afraid of Heights’, the rocking ‘Rice Cake Rabbit Soul’ and the fantastic ‘Oh Bumblebee’ from their most recent album, ‘Fangs’. Equal parts Magoo, Half Man Half Biscuit and Roxy Music, Dawn of the Replicants owe their longevity to their undwindling ability to create engaging, exciting and, quite simply, highly enjoyable music. This singles collection will either sum up why you love them, or introduce you to one of your new favourite bands.

Track Listing:-
1 Cocaine On The Catwalk
2 Lisa Box
3 Skullcrusher (David Holmes/Tim Goldsworthy Remix)
4 Radars
5 Candlefire
6 Hogwash Farm: Rebuilt
7 Mary Louise
8 Born In Baskets
9 Rule The Roost
10 Science Fiction Freak
11 Love Is Curse
12 Leaving Town
13 Smoke Without Fire
14 Rockefeller Centre 1932
15 Everyone In Heaven Is Afraid Of Geights
16 Won't Harm A Fly
17 Ricecake Rabbit Soul
18 Essence Of Maureen
19 Little Driver
20 Oh, Bumblebee
21 Fix The Air
22 Cocaine On Catwalk 1996

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors