# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Ghosty - Grow Up Or Sleep In

  by Andrew Carver

published: 18 / 5 / 2006

Ghosty - Grow Up Or Sleep In
Label: Select Label
Format: CD


First-rate psychedelic pop on debut album from Kansas group Ghosty, which includes a guest appearance from the Flaming Lips' Wayne Coyne

Kansas’ Ghosty have released a pair of promising EPs - ‘The Five Short Minutes EP’ and the appropriately titled ‘Three Pop Songs’ – and fulfilled that promise on ‘Grow Up or Sleep In’. The Long Winters, Nada Surf, The Webb Brothers and the more bucolic Elephant 6 outfits are apt touchstones for Ghosty; the band can also boast a connection with Wayne Coyne of the Flaming Lips (he sings on the album’s unlisted track). The pleasant pop on ‘Grow Up’ incorporates a good dose of psychedelica – dig that tremeloed guitar on ‘(In A Big World) Little Dreams Count’ – and folk. There’s a homey vibe to the album; although ‘Grow Up’ would not be called lo-fi, the band employs such tricks as running the  electric on ‘Jacqueline’ though what sounds like a tinny radio speaker. Strong songs and an emotive vocal performance from main songwriter Andrew Connor add up to an exceptionally charming album.

Track Listing:-
1 Big Surrender
2 Henry Greene
3 Rooms in the Dark
4 (In a Big World) Little Dreams Count
5 High on Life
6 Vandalism
7 Clouds Solve It
8 Go to Add-Drop City
9 World Travelers
10 Hey! Somebody
11 Jacqueline
12 Clouds Solve It [feat. Wayne Coyne] (Bonus Track)
13 Primadonna (Bonus Track)
14 John Hunter (Bonus Track)
15 Sad Sack
16 Dust Box Nites (Bonus Track)
17 Rok Town Air (Bonus Track)
18 Going Home (Bonus Track)

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors