# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Tennant / Lowe - Battleship Potemkin

  by Anthony Strutt

published: 28 / 8 / 2005

Tennant / Lowe - Battleship Potemkin
Label: Parlophone
Format: CD


Fine live soundtrack for 1925 silent cinematic Russian masterpiece 'The Battleship Potemkin' composed by Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe of Pet Shop Boys fame

Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe from the Pet Shop Boys have gone all classical on us with aid of the Dresdner Sinfoniker symphony orchestra on 'The Battleship Potemkin.' The whole record is a live soundtrack to Sergei Einstein's silent cinematic Russian masterpiece of the same name from 1925. The music on this, however, stands on its own really well. It combines strings with Chris Lowe's keyboards. There are only three vocal pieces on the whole recording, all of which sit well with the other instrumental pieces. The only time Tennant and Lowe go mad and sound even remotely like the Pet Shop Boys is during 'No Time for Tears', which starts elegantly but soon speeds up. It, however, then takes most of the rest of the next track, 'To the Battleship', before normal service is resumed. A fine and a very brave record.

Track Listing:-
1 "Comrades!"
2 Men and Maggots
3 Our Daily Bread
4 Drama in the Harbour
5 Nyet
6 To the Shore
7 Odessa
8 No Time for Tears
9 To the Battleship
10 After All (The Odessa Staircase)
11 Stormy Meetings
12 Night Falls
13 Full Steam Ahead
14 The Squadron
15 For Freedom

Label Links:-

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors