# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Peppermints - Jesüs Chryst

  by Mark Rowland

published: 23 / 6 / 2005

Peppermints - Jesüs Chryst
Label: Paw Tracks
Format: CD


Over long debut from three-quarters female art rockers the Peppermints, who recall Bikini Kill and Babes in Toyland with their fiery energy

The Peppermints tread similar ground to Erase Errata and Arab on Radar; a noisy, arty assault on your ears. This is a pretty good thing, especially as the three-quarters female quartet deliver their noise with the same fiery energy as Riot Grrl bands like Bikini Kill and Babes in Toyland. They do sound fantastic if you like their thing, but they could have done with cutting the number of tracks down. There is a great EP within ‘Jesus Chryst’, but at 18 tracks long, it is too much to hold your attention. The Peppermints’ onslaught is unrelenting, and although you get flashes of brilliance along the way (‘Cousins’, ‘Eagles’ and ‘Onion Salad’ being prime examples) it makes for a pretty unmemorable listening experience. The only time ‘Jesus Chryst’ lets up is on ‘Santorum’, which is based around a hypnotic piano riff. It also features singing rather than the shouting which appears on most of the tracks. The Peppermints have shown they can make a good art noise, but they have to do one of two things to perfect it on record: either diversify a little or cut the length of their albums by at least ten minutes. If they do that, then maybe people will start remembering their songs.

Track Listing:-
1 Yellow Rain
2 Snak 10
3 Daughter
4 I Lost It
5 Rabid Frogs
6 Sexy Total Fuck
7 Blüdudud
8 A Hotel
9 Carmen Coxon
10 Yes It Is
11 Eagles
12 Cousin
13 Onion Salad
14 Red Wedding, White Wedding
15 Santorum
16 Anxiathon
17 4th Of Your Life
18 Grapefruit

Post A Comment

your name
ie London, UK
Check box to submit

digital downloads

most viewed articles

most viewed reviews

Pennyblackmusic Regular Contributors